Encontre seu próximo audiolivro favorito

Torne-se um membro hoje e ouça gratuitamente por 30 dias
The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

Escrito por Ben Philippe

Narrado por James Fouhey


The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

Escrito por Ben Philippe

Narrado por James Fouhey

avaliações:
4/5 (38 avaliações)
Comprimento:
9 horas
Editora:
Lançado em:
Jan 8, 2019
ISBN:
9780062885203
Formato:
Audiolivro

Descrição

A hilarious contemporary realistic YA debut novel about a rather cynical Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the clichés and joys of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and When Dimple Met Rishi.

Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don't bode well when you are moving to Austin, Texas.

Plunked into a new high school and sweating a ridiculous amount from the oppressive Texas heat, Norris finds himself cataloging everyone he meets: the Cheerleaders, the Jocks, the Loners, and even the Manic Pixie Dream Girl. Making a ton of friends has never been a priority for him, and this way he can at least amuse himself until it's time to go back to Canada, where he belongs.

Yet against all odds, those labels soon become actual people to Norris…like loner Liam, who makes it his mission to befriend Norris, or Madison the beta cheerleader, who is so nice that it has to be a trap. Not to mention Aarti the Manic Pixie Dream Girl, who might, in fact, be a real love interest in the making.

But the night of the prom, Norris screws everything up royally. As he tries to pick up the pieces, he realizes it might be time to stop hiding behind his snarky opinions and start living his life—along with the people who have found their way into his heart.

Editora:
Lançado em:
Jan 8, 2019
ISBN:
9780062885203
Formato:
Audiolivro


Sobre o autor

Ben Philippe is a New York–based writer and screenwriter, born in Haiti and raised in Montreal, Canada. He has a Bachelor of Arts from Columbia University and an MFA in fiction and screenwriting from the Michener Center for Writers in Austin, Texas. He also teaches film studies and screenwriting at Barnard College. He is the author of the William C. Morris Award–winning novel The Field Guide to the North American Teenager. Find him online at www.benphilippe.com.

Relacionado a The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

Audiolivros relacionados

Análises

O que as pessoas pensam sobre The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

4.2
38 avaliações / 4 Análises
O que você acha?
Classificação: 0 de 5 estrelas

Avaliações de leitores

  • (4/5)
    Ben Philippe’s debut novel, The Field Guide to the North American Teenager, hits all the right buttons for a lot of YA readers: funny, romantic, quirky friends and topical social issues. Norris Kaplan finds himself unhappily moving from Montreal to Austin, Texas for his mother’s new job. He hates everything about his new life--the heat, the people, and the lack of hockey to name a few. The Field Guide follows Norris through his first half-yearn Texas and all of the typical high school drama he encounters while he tries not to fit in. Readers who like Becky Albertalli, Ned Vizzini and Chris Crutcher definitely have a new author to follow.
  • (4/5)
    Norris is a fun and realistic protagonist who totally makes this book.
  • (3/5)
    Ok it was funny but I did not like the ending
  • (5/5)
    Absolutely incredible. Quite possibly the best ya novel I've ever read, comparative to The Hate U Give and A Blade So Black.