Exploring Our Solar System by Mahesh Dutt Sharma by Mahesh Dutt Sharma - Read Online




One light year is equivalent to 10,000 billion miles. Our solar system is shifting towards Hercules constellation of stars at a speed of 19.3 kilometers per second. The sky of the earth is blue; the sky of Mars is pinkish-orange because of the dust present in the atmosphere. For thousands of years man had no knowledge about the solar system. He had believed that earth alone was the centre point of the universe.
Nicolas Copernicus, Galileo Galilee, John’s Kepler and Isaac Newton well known astronomers by studying about the speed and movements of the planets have today brought to our knowledge that sun is the centre point of the solar system. Among the planets of the solar system only Venus and mercury are not the planets who have their own moons, rather earths one satellite is moon, mars has 2 moons, Jupiter has 63 moons, Saturn has 60, Uranus has 27 and Neptune has 13 moons. The energy that reaches from the sun to the earth, reaches at an electric charge of 1.37 kilowatt electricity per meter.

Published: Mahesh Dutt Sharma on
ISBN: 9781301447459
List price: $1.50
Availability for Exploring Our Solar System
With a 30 day free trial you can read online for free
  1. This book can be read on up to 6 mobile devices.


Book Preview

Exploring Our Solar System - Mahesh Dutt Sharma

You've reached the end of this preview. Sign up to read more!
Page 1 of 1


1. Our Solar System

Our Solar System is like an umbrella for the entire universe. Sun is the chief authority in the Solar System, who is the major source of living for the living beings on the earth.

Solar system consists of one centre Star Sun, nine planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto). More than 169 moon, uncountable stars and various other small bodies such as comets, centaurs and interplanetary dust.


Our some planets are gaseous and some are terrestrial planets.

Terrestrial Planets: The four smaller inner planets namely Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars are the terrestrial Planets. These terrestrial planets are very dense and are largely composed of rocks, refractory minerals like silicates which form their crusts and mantels, and metals such as iron and nickel which form their cores. Terrestrial planets have few or no moons and no ring systems. Hence the movement of these planets is very slow.

Gaseous Planets: The four outer planets that are gas giants are sometimes also known as Jovian Planets. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are the gaseous planets. These planets have ring system and so do they even have several moons of their own. Since they are made up of gases like Helium and Hydrogen, so they are very light as to their shape and size. They also move faster.

Small sized planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars and Pluto are the small sized planets. The diameter of these small sized planets is less than 13,000 kilometer. Mercury and Pluto are called small sized planets because they are very small in shape too.

Huge Sized Planets: Jupiter, Uranus, Saturn and Neptune are the huge sized planets. The diameter of these planets is more than 48, 000 kilometers. These planets are many a time called as Gas Giants.

Discovery of the Solar System

The solar system consists of the Sun and the astronomical objects that are gravitationally bound in the orbit around it. These objects were found with the collapse of a giant molecular cloud approximately 4.6 billion years ago. The mass majority of the system’s mass is in the Sun. The Sun was made up of the hollow of gas and the dust, which started moving with the speed slowly and became like a moving disc.

The particles of gas and dust kept on being collected in the centre by which the Sun was formed. But since the dust is heavier than gas, hence certain particles of the dust got collected in the centre of the disc. Millions of dust particles formed a group of themselves which later turned into rocks and rocks got scattered hitting to each other which became planets.

Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are the gaseous giants and were so heavy that they along with them have also pulled away lots of gas from the Sun. The outer layer of these planets is made up of helium, hydrogen and other gases.

Sun is a gaseous ball and the planets, comets and others are the particles made out of the rocks formed out of dust and gas. According to the scientists these were formed millions and billions of years back, but which planet was formed first is yet not known to anyone.

Solar system is 5 million years old, in the galaxy there are no physical boundaries. All the nine planets in the solar system revolves round the Sun. Pluto which is farthest from Sun used to complete its one round of the Sun in 372 crore miles, this distance is so far that we cannot even imagine.

Distances between the planets

All the planets vary in size, shape, color and appearance. The four planets that are closest to the Sun are called terrestrial planets; these planets have no rings, out of them