Jennifer McCarter Headquarters, Washington, DC (Phone: 202/358-1639) Doug Peterson Johnson Space Center, Houston, TX (Phone

: 281/483-5111) RELEASE: 98-205

November 16, 1998

THIRD U.S. SPACE STATION ASSEMBLY CREW NAMED Astronaut James D. Halsell, Jr. (Lieutenant Col., USAF) will command the third Space Shuttle mission to carry cargo to space for the International Space Station in August 1999. Joining Halsell in the flight deck for mission STS-101 aboard Atlantis will be Pilot Scott J. Horowitz, Ph.D. (Lieutenant Col., USAF). Rounding out the crew are Mission Specialists Mary Ellen Weber, Ph.D.; Edward Tsang Lu, Ph.D.; and Jeffrey N. Williams (Lieutenant Col., USA). As the third International Space Station assembly flight, the mission will carry internal logistics and resupply cargo for station operations. The equipment will further the outfitting of the Russian Service Module. "STS-101 will bring important components and equipment to the growing Station assembly," said James D. Wetherbee, Director of Flight Crew Operations and Deputy Director of NASA's Johnson Space Center, Houston. "This talented crew brings a great deal of experience and skill to make this key mission a success." STS-101 will be Halsell's fifth mission, and his third as commander. Selected as an astronaut in 1990, he flew as pilot on STS-65 in 1994 and STS-74 in 1995, and as commander on STS-83 and STS-94 in 1997. Horowitz served as pilot in his two previous missions: STS-75 in 1996 and STS-82 in 1997. Weber, a Mission Specialist onboard Discovery on STS-70, will be on her second space flight. Lu also will be on his second space trip; his first was STS-84 which docked to the Mir Space Station. Mission Specialist Williams will be making his first space flight.

For biographical information on the STS-101 crew and other astronauts, see the NASA Internet astronaut biography home page at: For information on the International Space Station, visit the Space Station home page at: - end -

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful