Você está na página 1de 1

The ASEAN Timeline:

Key Dates Leading Up to the 2015 ASEAN

Economic Community (AEC) Integration

August 1967

Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines,

Singapore and Thailand establishes
ASEAN through the ASEAN declaration
(also referred to as the Bangkok
Declaration). The declaration was signed
by the deputy prime minister for
Malaysia, and the foreign ministers and
secretaries from the other nations.

January 1992

January 1984
Brunei Darussalam joins ASEAN.

ASEAN creates the Common Effective

Preferential Tariff (CEPT) Scheme for
the ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA).
Both CEPT and AFTA were created to
increase the regions global competitive advantage as a production base.

July 1995

The ASEAN Regional Forum was

established (ARF) focused on security
interdependence in the Asia Pacic
region. This was participated in by the
10 member states and the 10 dialogue
partners: Australia, Canada, EU, India,
Japan, South Korea, Russia, New
Zealand, and US.

Vietnam joins ASEAN.

July 1994

July 1997
Laos and Myanmar joins ASEAN.

December 1997
The association adapts the ASEAN
Vision 2020. This vision was created
for the promotion of regional
cooperation in the spirit of equality
and partnership. This is the
precursor of the AEC.

December 1997
ASEAN plus Three (APT) Cooperation
was created to improve existing ties
with China, Japan and South Korea.

ASEAN signed the Southeast Asian

Nuclear Weapon Free Zone Treaty (also
called the Bangkok Treaty of 1995), a
nuclear weapons moratorium which
prohibits member states to develop,
manufacture, acquire, possess or control
nuclear weapons.

December 1997

April 1999

Cambodia joins ASEAN.

October 2003
ASEAN signs the Bali Concord II which
is the catalyst for the creation of a
single market and elimination of tariff
and non-tariff roadblocks within the
region, as well as the promotion of a
democratic peacekeeping process.

December 2005
First East Asia Charter was held with
16 countries in the East Asia region.

December 2006
ASEAN granted observer status at
United Nations General Assembly.

ASEAN leaders decided to accelerate

the realisation of the regional integration
to 2015.
Cebu Declaration on East Asian Energy
Security which advocates for the search
of alternate energy sources for energy
security within the region.

November 2007
Signing of the ASEAN Charter, a
constitution to serve as guiding
principles and conduct for the 10
member states.

February 2009

January 2007

A Free Trade Agreement was undertaken between ASEAN and Australia

and New Zealand which is expected to
boost GDP across the parties involved
by $48 billion from 2010-2020.


December 2008
The ASEAN leaders met and addressed
the need to turn ASEAN into a legal
entity that will create a single free-trade

The rst round of negotiations between

the ASEAN and the six major trading
partners were held on the establishment
of regional comprehensive economic

February 2013

The ASEAN Economic Community is expected to be established in

2015, a move that is expected to open up the economies of the
member states in a grand scale. The move is set to increase trade
and investment opportunities and improve the general economic
atmosphere. The AEC aims to achieve:
(a) A single market and production base,
(b) A highly competitive economic region,
(c) A region of equitable economic development, and
(d) A region fully integrated into the global economy

Bring your business to the Asian Tigers.

Grow your business with us. Introduce your brands and services to Hong Kong and the
Southeast Asian region. We are here to help make it happen. Seamlessly, effectively.
Contact: Fred Tshidimba

Belgium +32 2 7810245

Hong Kong +85 2 580 14448
USA +1 213 2395716