Você está na página 1de 53

Nagourney Jennifer

Charter School Office Collaboration Site <no-reply@sharepointonline.com>


Monday, January 11, 2016 3:46 PM
Clendaniel Barbara
Nagourney Jennifer; Carwell John
Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

From:

Sent:
To:

Cc:
Subject:

Head of School Email Address: calvarez@design-labschools.org;

Dear School

Leade~

The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Charter School Office

(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 1/11/2016


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information:
Issue Description: Received a call from a parent
regarding her daughte~
~9th grader). She has repeatedly requested to have her daughter released from Delaware
Design-Lab. She has placed several phone calls (to Alvarez & Bennett) and submitted the proper
release form. Her daughter is currently at the Rockford Center with severe depression and has been
out of school since the holiday. She believes that they have Just Cause to have her released in order
to attend another public school. She maintains that her child witnesses cheating, bullying, and fights
at the school and does not want to go back. She said she will not send her daughter back to the
school. She spoke with Shelia regarding this back in the fall so this is on-going.

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Charter School Office Collaboration Site < no-reply@sharepointonline.com >


Thursday, January 07, 2016 1:19 PM
Clendaniel Barbara
Nagourney Jennifer; Carwell John
Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Sent:
To:

Cc:
Subject:

Head of School Email Address: calvarez@design-labschools.org;

Dear School

Leade~

The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office

(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 1/7/2016


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information:. . . .
Issue Description: Received a call from
(parent) regarding driver's education being
offered on the weekend at Delaware Design Lab. She is very concerned and would like a call back.

Nagourney Jennifer
From:
Sent:
To:
Cc:

Subject:

Joseph Mock
Friday, November 13, 2015 6:57 AM
Enoch Johnson; cristina alvarez; Carwell John
Alvarez Cristina; Matt Urban; Nagourney Jennifer; St. John-Coleman Stella; Stover
Debbie; Lawrence Sheila; Durrell Harris; Stacey Chambers
Re: Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

See you soon.


Respectfully,

Joseph Mock, M.Ed


Principal
Design-Lab High School
179 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Phone: 302.292.5450
Fax: 302.292.5457
Visit us on the web:
http://design-labschools.org

like us on FB:
https://www. facebook.com/Design La bSchools

Follow us on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/DesignLabSchool

From:
Sent: Friday, November 13, 2015 6:56AM
To: Joseph Mock; cristina alvarez; Carwell John
Cc: Alvarez Cristina; Matt Urban; Nagourney Jennifer; St. John-Coleman Stella; Stover Debbie; Lawrence Sheila; Durrell
Harris; Stacey Chambers
Subject: RE: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Today.

Happy Connecting. Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy S 5 Sport

--------Original message-------From: Joseph Mock <Joseph.Mock@design-lab.k12.de.us>


1

Date: 11/13/2015 6:55AM (GMT-05:00)


To:
1>, cristina alvarez <cristina.alvarez@design-labschools.org>,
Carwell John <jo n.ca
oe.k12.de.us>
Cc: Alvarez Cristina <calvarez@design-labschools.org>, Matt Urban <matt@mobiusnm.com>, Nagourney
Jennifer <Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us>, "St. John-Coleman Stella" <stella.st.johncoleman@state.de.us>, Stover Debbie <debbie.stover@doe.k12.de.us>, Lawrence Sheila
<sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>, Durrell Harris <Durreii.Harris@design-lab.k12.de.us>, Stacey Chambers
<Stacey.Chambers@design-lab.k12.de.us>
Subject: Re: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School
Great to hear. Please let me know when twill be joining us.
Have a great day.
Respectfully,
Joseph Mock, M.Ed
Principal
Design-Lab High School
179 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Phone: 302.292.5450
Fax: 302.292.5457
Visit us on the web:
http://design-labschools.org
Like us on FB:

https://www. facebook.com/Design La bSchools


Follow us on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/DesignLabSchool

From:

Sent: Friday, November 13, 2015 5:06AM


To: Joseph Mock; cristina alvarez; Carwell John
Cc: Alvarez Cristina; Matt Urban; Nagourney Jennifer; St. John-Coleman Stella; Stover Debbie; Lawrence Sheila; Durrell
Harris; Stacey Chambers
Subject: RE: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Yes we accept. Thank you.

Happy Connecting. Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy S 5 Sport

--------Original message-------From: Joseph Mock <Joseph.Mock@design-lab.k12.de.us>


Date: 11/12/2015 9:48PM (GMT-05:00)
To: cristina alvarez <cristina.alvarez@design-labschools.org>, Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us>
Cc: Alvarez Cristina <calvarez@design-labschools.org>, Matt Urban <matt@mobiusnm.com>, Nagourney
Jennifer <Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us>, "St. John-Coleman Stella" <stella.st.johncoleman@state.de.us>, Stover Debbie <debbie.stover@doe.k12.de.us>,

If>,

Lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>, Durrell Harris


<Durreii.Harris@design-lab.k12.de.us>, Stacey Chambers <Stacey.Chambers@design-lab.k12.de.us>
Subject: Re: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School
Please see attach invite t o - Academic & Behavior Success Meeting.

Respectfully,
Joseph Mock, M.Ed
Principal
Design-Lab High School
179 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Phone: 302.292.5450
Fax: 302.292.5457
Visit us on the web:
http://design-labschools.org
Like us on FB:
https://www .facebook.com/Design LabSchools
Follow us on Twitter:
https ://twitter .com/DesignLabSchool

From: cristina alvarez <cristina.alvarez@design-labschools.org>


Sent: Thursday, November 12, 2015 6:55 PM
To: Carwell John
Cc: Joseph Mock; Alvarez Cristina; Matt Urban; Nagourney Jennifer; Sadowski John; St. John-Coleman Stella; Stover
Debbie;
; Lawrence Sheila
Subject: Re: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Hello all:
Principal Mock and I are in receipt of your email. We will welcome ~ack to school tomorrow and look
forward to working with the family to support the studet:t' s learning.
Sincerely,
~Dr.

Alvarez
3

On Nov 12, 2015, at 12:34 PM, Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us> wrote:


Mr. Mock and Dr. Alvarez,
regarding his son,
. He explained that . .
I received a call from
has been out of school for several weeks and is currently receiving homebound instruction. My
understanding is that a formalized hearing was not provided for - - He should be permitted to
return to school immediately until the hearing is conducted only if Design-lab plans to proceed with
expulsion.
also mentioned that Design-lab provided him with documentation approving
~ release to attend Christina School District for alleged bullying under good cause.
plan to return . _ t o Design-lab tomorrow, November 13. The parents may
to Christina District at some point thereafter. If so, please communicate the
choose to send
following to Christina: 1) the student is not expelled and is currently attending the school and 2) the
school has received an allegation of bullying and substantiated it to be occurring (provide the bullying
documentation).
Please let me know if you have any questions.
Thank you,
John H. Carwell, Jr.
Education Associate, Charter School Office
Delaware Department of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite #2
Dover, DE 19901-3639
302.735.4020 (T) 302.739.4483 (F)
Email: john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us
From: Joseph Mock
Sent: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 3:02 PM
To:

; lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>;


Alvarez Cristina <calvarez@design-labschools.org>
Cc: Urban, Matt <matt@mobiusnm.com>; Nagourney Jennifer <Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us>;
Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us>; Sadowski John <john.sadowski@doe.k12.de.us>; St. JohnColeman Stella <stella.st.john-coleman@state.de.us>
Subject: Re: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-lab High School

I just called and left you a voicemail. I am looking to have a phone conversation with you. You
can contact me via the school number or my personal like in the past.
Thank youMr. Mock
Respectfully,
Joseph Mock, M.Ed

Principal
4

Design-lab High School


179 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Phone:302.292.5450
Cell: 570.336.7424
Visit us on the web:
http://design-labschools.org

like us on FB:
https://www. face book. com/Design La bSchools

Follow us on Twitter:
https ://twitter .com/Design La bSchoo I

From=
Sent: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 2:56 PM
To: Joseph Mock; Lawrence Sheila; Alvarez Cristina
Cc: Urban, Matt; Nagourney Jennifer; Carwell John; Sadowski John; St. John-Coleman Stella
Subject: RE: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Yes, I have agreed to terms out of desperation for an education for our son. We have been
giving only two subjects of work which we struggle with and will be returning finished work the
next school day. We will be bringing - b a c k to school. I really think everyone has learned
there lesson in this matter. IT'S JUST TO LONG WITHOUT BEING EDUCATED IT'S HIS RIGHT.
Thanks all!

Happy Connecting. Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy S 5 Sport

-------- Original message -------From: Joseph Mock <Joseph.Mock@design-lab.k12.de.us>


Date: 11/10/2015 2:45 PM (GMT-05:00)
To: Lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>, Alvarez Cristina <calvarez@designlabschools.org>
Cc: "Urban, Matt" <matt@mobiusnm.com>, Nagourney Jennifer

.1 . .
111111

i iii
eii
ll ii
Joiihiini <
l jlolhln l.ciair w
i ei lil @
i dioe k12 d e u~s~
>, Sadowski
<Jennifer. Nagou rney@ doe. k12 .de. us>, ..:Ciiialrw
John <john .sadowski@doe.k12.de.us>,
Subject: Re: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School
Hello all:
I have met/spoke with the parents on numerous occasions. Father was in a few days ago (we
spoke during this time), to pick up work for
to complete. We are in the process of
5

sending the information from the approved American Cyber school, that CEO, Admin, board
and parents agreed too late last week.
Our guidance counselor has been working on this.
I will call

today, as we have an open line of communication.

Thank youMr. Mock


Respectfully,
Joseph Mock, M.Ed
Principal
Design-Lab High School
179 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Phone:302.292.5450
Cell: 570.336.7424
Visit us on the web:

http://design-labschools.org
Like us on FB:

https ://www. face book.com/Design La bSchools


Follow us on Twitter:

https://twitter.com/DesignLabSchool

From: Lawrence Sheila

Sent: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 2:38 PM


To: Alvarez Cristina; Joseph Mock

Cc: Urban, Matt; Nagourney Jennifer; Carwell John; Sadowski J o h n ;

Subject: FW: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Dear School Leader:


The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent
about a concern at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue
as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office

(302) 735-4020
Contact Date: 11/10/2015
Method of Contact: Phone
6

Parent Contact Information:

Issue Description:
phoned our office in regards to his son,~
w h o has been suspended for 30 days without any learning materials. has been waiting to hear back from Dr. Alvarez or Mr. Mock in what the next
steps i n - education. He will be bringing-to school tomorrow with
expectations of him resuming his education. Please contact
. . . to discuss further.
Sample disclaimer text

This e-mail and any of its attachments may contain Graver Technologies
proprietary information, which is privileged, confidential, or subject
to copyright belonging to the Graver Technologies family of Companies.
This e-mail is intended solely for the use of the individual or entity
to which it is addressed.
If you are not the intended recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby
notified that any dissemination, distribution, copying, or action taken
in relation to the contents of and attachments to this e-mail is strictly
prohibited and may be unlawful.
If you have received this e-mail in error, please notify the sender
immediately and permanently delete the original and any copy of this
e-mail and any printout. The views expressed in this message are the
views of the individual sender, except where the sender specifically and
with authority states that they represent the views of Graver Technologies.
Thank You.

Sample disclaimer text

This e-mail and any of its attachments may contain Graver Technologies
proprietary information, which is privileged, confidential, or subject
to copyright belonging to the Graver Technologies family of Companies.
This e-mail is intended solely for the use of the individual or entity
to which it is addressed.
If you are not the intended recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby
notified that any dissemination, distribution, copying, or action taken
in relation to the contents of and attachments to this e-mail is strictly
prohibited and may be unlawful.
7

If you have received this e-mail in error, please notify the sender
immediately and permanently delete the original and any copy of this
e-mail and any printout. The views expressed in this message are the
views of the individual sender, except where the sender specifically and
with authority states that they represent the views of Graver Technologies.
Thank You.

Sample disclaimer text

This e-mail and any of its attachments may contain Graver Technologies
proprietary information, which is privileged, confidential, or subject
to copyright belonging to the Graver Technologies family of Companies.
This e-mail is intended solely for the use of the individual or entity
to which it is addressed.
If you are not the intended recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby
notified that any dissemination, distribution, copying, or action taken
in relation to the contents of and attachments to this e-mail is strictly
prohibited and may be unlawful.
If you have received this e-mail in error, please notify the sender
immediately and permanently delete the original and any copy of this
e-mail and any printout. The views expressed in this message are the
views of the individual sender, except where the sender specifically and
with authority states that they represent the views of Graver Technologies.
Thank You.

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Sent:
To:
Cc:
Subject:

Joseph Mock
Thursday, November 12, 2015 8:34 PM
cristina alvarez; Carwell John
Alvarez Cristina; Matt Urban; Nagourney Jennifer; Sadowski John; St. John-Coleman
Stella; Stover Debbie;
Lawrence Sheila
Re: Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

We look forward to continuing our work with , and his family .... moving forward for the student.
Have a great evening.
Respectfully,
Joseph Mock, M.Ed
Principal
Design-Lab High School
179 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Phone: 302.292.5450
Fax: 302.292.5457
Visit us on the web:

http://design-labschools.org
Like us on FB:

https://www .facebook.com/Design LabSchools


Follow us on Twitter:

https://twitter.com/DesignlabSchool

From: cristina alvarez <cristina.alvarez@design-labschools.org>

Sent: Thursday, November 12, 2015 6:55 PM


To: Carwell John
Cc: Joseph Mock; Alvarez Cristina; Matt Urban; Nagourney Jennifer; Sadowski John; St. John-Coleman Stella; Stover
Debbie;
; Lawre~ce Sheila
Subject: Re: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Hello all:
Principal Mock and I are in receipt of your email. We will welcome - b a c k to school tomorrow and look
forward to working with the family to support the student's learning.
Sincerely,
1

~Dr.

Alvarez
On Nov 12, 2015, at 12:34 PM, Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us> wrote:
Mr. Mock and Dr. Alvarez,
I received a call from Mr. Johnson regarding his son,
. John-Johnson. He explained t h a t - .
has been out of school for several weeks and is currently receiving homebound instruction. My
understanding is that a formalized hearing was not provided for_.. He should be permitted to
return to school immediately until the hearing is conducted only if Design-Lab plans to proceed with
expulsion.
also mentioned that Design-Lab provided him with documentation approving
release to attend Christina School District for alleged bullying under good cause.

~~~~!::::plan to return- to Design-Lab tomorrow, November 13. The parents may


choose to send
o Christina District at some point thereafter. If so, please communicate the
following to Christina: 1) the student is not expelled and is currently attending the school and 2) the
school has received an allegation of bullying and substantiated it to be occurring (provide the bullying
documentation).

Please let me know if you have any questions.


Thank you,
John H. Carwell, Jr.
Education Associate, Charter School Office
Delaware Department of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite #2
Dover, DE 19901-3639
302.735.4020 (T) 302.739.4483 (F)
Email: john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us
From: Joseph Mock

Sent: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 3:02 PM


To:
; Lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>;
Alvarez Cristina <calvarez@design-labschools.org>
Cc: Urban, Matt <matt@mobiusnm.com>; Nagourney Jennifer <Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us>;
Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us>; Sadowski John <john.sadowski@doe.k12.de.us>; St. JohnColeman Stella <stella.st.john-coleman@state.de.us>
Subject: Re: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

I just called and left you a voicemail. I am looking to have a phone conversation with you. You
can contact me via the school number or my personal like in the past.
Thank youMr. Mock
Respectfully,
Joseph Mock, M.Ed
2

Principal
Design-Lab High School
179 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Phone:302.292.5450
Cell: 570.336.7424
Visit us on the web:
http://design-labschools.org
Like us on FB:
https://www. facebook.com/Design La bSchools
Follow us on Twitter:
https ://twitter .com/Design La bSchoo I

From: llllllllllllllllllllllll..llll
Sent: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 2:56 PM
To: Joseph Mock; Lawrence Sheila; Alvarez Cristina
Cc: Urban, Matt; Nagourney Jennifer; Carwell John; Sadowski John; St. John-Coleman Stella
Subject: RE: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Yes, I have agreed to terms out of desperation for an education for our son. We have been
giving only two subjects of work which we struggle with and will be returning finished work the
next school day. We will be bringing Nyairr back to school. I really think everyone has learned
there lesson in this matter. IT'S JUST TO LONG WITHOUT BEING EDUCATED IT'S HIS RIGHT.
Thanks all!

Happy Connecting. Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy S 5 Sport

--------Original message-------From: Joseph Mock <Joseph.Mock@design-lab.k12.de.us>


Date: 11/10/2015 2:45 PM (GMT-05:00)
To: Lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>, Alvarez Cristina <calvarez@designlabschools.org>
Cc: "Urban, Matt" <matt@mobiusnm.com>, Nagourney Jennifer
<Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us>, Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us>, Sadowski
John <john.sadowski@doe.k12.de.us>, . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .11.1111>
Subject: Re: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School
Hello all:
3

I have met/spoke with the parents on numerous occasions. Father was in a few days ago (we
spoke during this time), to pick up work fo
to complete. We are in the process of
sending the information from the approved American Cyber school, that CEO, Admin, board
and parents agreed too late last week.
Our guidance counselor has been working on this.
I will call today, as we have an open line of communication.
Thank youMr. Mock
Respectfully,
Joseph Mock, M.Ed
Principal
Design-Lab High School
179 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Phone:302.292.5450
Cell: 570.336.7424
Visit us on the web:

http:// design-la bschoo ls.org


Like us on FB:

https ://www. face book. com/Design La bSchools


Follow us on Twitter:

https://twitter.com/DesignLabSchool

From: Lawrence Sheila


Sent: Tuesday, November 10, 2015 2:38 PM
To: Alvarez Cristina; Joseph Mock
Cc: Urban, Matt; Nagourney Jennifer; Carwell John; Sadowski John
Subject: FW: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Dear School Leader:


The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent
about a concern at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue
as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office
(302) 735-4020
4

Contact Date: 11/10/2015


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information: 1 1

Issue Description:
phoned our office in regards to his son,
who has been suspended for 30 days without any learning materials.
has been waiting to hear back from Dr. Alvarez or Mr. Mock in what the next
steps in. . . education. He will be bringing- to school tomorrow with
expectations of him resuming his education. Please contact
u s s further.
Sample disclaimer text

This e-mail and any of its attachments may contain Graver Technologies
proprietary information, which is privileged, confidential, or subject
to copyright belonging to the Graver Technologies family of Companies.
This e-mail is intended solely for the use of the individual or entity
to which it is addressed.
If you are not the intended recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby
notified that any dissemination, distribution, copying, or action taken
in relation to the contents of and attachments to this e-mail is strictly
prohibited and may be unlawful.
If you have received this e-mail in error, please notify the sender
immediately and permanently delete the original and any copy of this
e-mail and any printout. The views expressed in this message are the
views of the individual sender, except where the sender specifically and
with authority states that they represent the views of Graver Technologies.
Thank You.

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Joseph Mock
Sunday, November 08, 2015 12:59 PM

Sent:
To:

Cc:

Subject:

Alvarez Cristi na; Matt Urban; Matusevich Dale; Nagourney Jennifer; Carwell John;
Lawrence Sheila
meeting(s) availability

Hello
It was great talking the last two weeks via emails, phone calls and on the day you recently picked up
at
afternoon dismissal. I would like to continue our communication by scheduling a meeting with the CEO of
Delaware Design-Lab, Dr. Alvarez, and myself.
School is closed on Wednesday, November 11, 2015, but I want to extend the invitation for you to come in
during that day. Are you able come in at 1:00pm to meet with Dr. Alvarez and me?
Please allow me to provide a brief summary of other information that has been communicated to you both :

We received the 504 plan from


former high school on 11/2/15- prior to this date this was
not available via eSchool or in the cumulative file
Teachers have a copy of the 504 plan
Previously, you agreed that the 504 plan could be discussed two weeks from now, on our
Tuesday 11/24 Parent-Teacher conference Day, but your most recent email requests a meeting before
this date of 11/24: happy to meet per your recent request
I will have a 504 plan meeting date to share with you this week as soon as I have identified a time that
works for all teachers during after school hours.
The 504 meeting with the teachers will be held at a different time than the meeting I offer you with the
CEO and me.

I look forward to hearing from you-

Respectfully,
Joseph Mock, M.Ed
Principal
Design-Lab High School
179 Stanton Christiana Rd, Newark, DE 19702
Phone:302.292.5450
Cell: 570.336.7424
Visit us on the web:

http://design-labschools.org
Like us on FB:

https://www.facebook.com/DesignLabSchools
1

Nagourney Jennifer
From:
Sent:
To:

Cc:

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .>
Saturday, November 07, 2015 10:02 AM
Lawrence Sheila; Alvarez Cristina; William Bennett; Urban, Matt;

Subject:

Nagourney Jennifer; Carwell John;


; Matusevich Dale
FW: Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

Importance:

High

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy NoteS.

-------- Original message -------From: Lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>


Date: 10/28/2015 11:47 AM (GMT-05:00)
To: Alvarez Cristina <calvarez@design-labschools.org>, William Bennett <William.Bennett@designlab.k12.de.us>, "Urban, Matt" <matt@mobiusnm.com>
Cc: Nagourney Jennifer <Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.kl2.de.us>, Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.kl2.de.us>,
naasih.faheem@gmail.com, irenefaheem@gmail.com, Matusevich Dale <dale.matusevich@doe.kl2.de.us>
Subject: FW: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Dear School Leader:


The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office

(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 10/28/15 9:21:01 AM


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information=.,

Issue Description: Note Added: School has failed to communicate with parents as of today. Father,
received 2nd Marking Period Report card and noticed that
has
not been following his 504 Plan. Parents has not met with special education teachers from school to
review it. Parents are still requesting the release of their son to go to Glasgow High School his feeder
to schedule meeting to discuss further. Also,
pattern school. Please contact father at
below is a paper trail with parents in regards to your school since 9/22 with our office asking you to
contact them. Cc: in the email is our Exceptional Children Resources workgroup contact person
assigned to your school to keep in the loop of the complaint for not following the 504 Plan for
From: Lawrence Sheila
Sent: Tuesday, September 29, 2015 2:59PM
To: Alvarez Cristina <calvarez@design-labschools.org>

Cc: William Bennett <William.Bennett@design-lab.k12.de.us>; Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us>;


Nagourney Jennifer <Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us>
Subject: RE: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School
Importance: High

Dr. Alvarez and Mr. Bennett:

I received another call from parent today; 9/29/15, still requesting to have her son released from your school ASAP. Mr.
Bennett refused to sign off on the transfer today without an explanation.
Glasgow High is willing to accept him for the transfer to happen. She has been at the school several time to see you Dr.
Alvarez and she left her number for you to contact her but still hasn't heard back from you. She hasn't received
anything that she requested from the school when she signed her son up and would like to have her son released at this
time. She is tired of receiving phone calls from Mr. Bennett about her son's behavior and school has only been opened
for one month. She cannot go through a year of leaving work or hearing complaints from her son of the things that are
going on at the school that should not be. Please give her a call Dr. Alvarez and let her know her next steps and keep us
posted so that we can close the complaint.

Regards,

Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Department of Education
Charter School Office
Dover, DE 19904
(302) 735-4020

From: Lawrence Sheila


Sent: Tuesday, September 22, 2015 11:48 AM
To: Alvarez Cristina

Cc: William Bennett; Carwell John;il


Subject: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Dear School

Leade~

The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office

(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 9/22/2015


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information:

Issue Description: Parent has concerns about the school's transportation; the computer lab is not set
up; school is not offering foreign languages, tablets are not being distributed and most importantly,
the cafeteria ran out of food 3 times where her son was not abled to have anything to eat but a
muffin yesterday. She wanted to know why the school is closed for three days this week which is
interfering with student learning. She is requesting a timeline for computer lab, foreign language, set
up date, tablets, and a plan moving forward to make sure there is enough food for all students.

From

To
'William.Bennett@design-lab.k12.de.us'
Cc
3

Sent
Tuesday, September 22, 2015 3:42 PM

Hello Mr. Bennett

I just wanted to touch base with you in reference to the incident with Nyzier listed below. I would also like to come
pick up your summary of your notes that were to be complied as you noted below
Also we are still waiting for a date and time to meet with you and Mrs. Alvarez. Please let me know when the both of
you are available to meet with my husband and I.

Thank you

Sent: Friday, September 18, 2015 1:29 PM

Subject: F w d : -

-------- Original message -------From: William Bennett <William.Bennett@design-lab.k12.de.us>


Date: 09/18/2015 7:58AM (GMT-05:00)
4

To------
Subject:--

Good morning
. I wanted to let you know that I spoke with Sgt. Bordley of the DSP yesterday afternoon. I
will be forwarding him information about the incident with - a n d they will be making a determination of charges
and will notify you if a warrant needs to be signed. I will let you know if I hear anything in the meantime. I will get you a
summary of my notes once I compile the information for the police.

Let me know if you have any questions.

William M. Bennett
Principal
Delaware Design-Lab High School
179 Stanton Christiana Rd.
Newark, DE 19702

p 302.292.5450

302.292.5457

e You forwarded this message on 1015!2015 12:32 PM.


From:
To:

Cc
SUbjed:

formallettf:r for releasment o f l f

.
.
. . . ... -.d Message ~Date09.pdf (102 KB)
~ ----

-- ........ --- - ....... .

From:llllllllllllllllllt
Sent Tuesday, September 29, 2015 3:54PM
To: 'calvarez@design-labschools. org'; 'Bennett@design-lab. k12. de. us'; 'john. carweH@doe. k12. de. us'; 'Jennifer.Nagounw
Subject: Dat:e09

Date09/29/2015
William Bennett, Crisl:ine Alverez
Design lab High School
179 Stanton Christiana Road

Dear (William Bennett, Cristine Alverez),

I am writing to formal request requesting a change in placement for my

), He is

currently in the loth grade at Design Lab .Do to your not readiness for 2015 schocll year. I am requesting
that_.. be released from your schooL I have been to the school several times I have left my number
for you to contact to see 'fOU and I have requested to meet with Mrs.Aiverz Gn numerous occasions;
However Mrs. Alverez has failed to rontact me to date. Nyzier has been assaulted this school year there
are no cameras in the hallways of the schoot. . . has gotten in trouble Nhile walking in the hallway
when leaving lund! when he was stoped by the prindpal {Mr. Bennett) stating he was late but there isn't
bells to indicate a student is late Jam tired of receivfng phone calls from Mr-. Bennett about my son's
behavior and school has only been opened for one mooth_ If my son is such a Pf"OOiem please release
him .Due to my s.on having a 504 education pian I would tike him to be in a more structured and positive
school environment. I have requested to arrange to meet with the rest of the IEP team no response. I
am most concerned about my wn education process; I don't think this is the right ftt fur my son
educational needs). I haven't received anything that I have requested from the school when I ~gned my
son up and would like to have my son released at this time_ I have also contacted the Board of education
to express other concerns with the schooL I have concerns about the school's transportatiOn; the
computer lab is not set up; schcol is not offering foreign langt~ages, tablets are not being distributed and
most importantly, the cafeterja has ran out of not proViding the children Iunch The school has eJ:essive
days of already this year, which is interfering with student learning.
Mr. Bennett refused to sign off oo the transfer today without an ex~aoation.
Thank you fur your time_

&La 5

d l

tiM)

DidiiiJ - I t
Message 1

~Ignore

jJunk
Delete
Delete

1,

=::t

Reply

m;. Meeting '4 To Manager


~ ~ ~IM
~ Oot1e

r: -~

(=J.

Reply Forward

All

a.

-w

More

~ Reply & Delete

,:~,. Create New

Rules

,alloneNote

~'
Qukk Steps

Resp on d

[i if

~ Team E-mail

lit

Move

~Actions
Move

From:

To:

Cc
Subject:

.w
r

Date09

Mes;a~e rrit[);d~.'~;;;ii8K6)---

..... --------------------- ---------------- ............................... ----- .. .

--------~

dl Iii

.Lj

... l

wo.,.

-$A

Y'_j~

FW: formal letter for releasment of NvzjerDolesSande

Message
~:c'M Ignore

i-~

Delete

Reply

Reply Forward ,.
All
~More?

eJunf<?

:e:ting

Gt. To Manager

~Team E-mail

../Done

~ Reply & Delete

Quick Steps

Iii Rules

~ ,all OneNote
Move

-:~ Create New

Respond

Delete

i-~~

11}

Actions ~

Move

8 You foiWarded this message on 101512015 12:33 PM.


From:
To:

Cc
Subject:

William.Bennett@design-lab. k12. de.us; calvarez@design-labschools.org

Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us; john.carweR@doe.k12.de.us
FW: formal letter for releasment of Nyzier Doles Sanden

----------------- "1""" ---------------------------- -d ~ '=I Date09.pdf (102 KB)


Good Morning Mr. Bennett,
I received a phone call from your secretary last Friday stating that you were to meet with Alvarez and I was to recer
from your school Delaware Design lab. Please call me with the time date that I can come pick up this paper

Patient Financial Billing Representative


Christiana Care Health Systems

~111!11~

From:Tuesday, September 29, 2015 3:57PM


Sent:
To: 'William.Bennett@design-lab.k12.de.us'; 'calvarez@design-lai}schools.org'; 'Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us'
SUbject: formal letter for releasment o f

0 This message was sent with High importance.


Sent

From:
To:

'abby .betts@s.tate.de.us'

Cc:
Subject:

FW: regarding your son

------- : '---- "]"---------------------- ----------------------------- - -


l3 ~ i release letter design lab. do ex P,8 KB)
~-

'!!1

Hello Mrs. Abby,


Student name
School : Design Lab High School

Attached i5 the letter sent to the School and the Board of Education . According the School Principal he is waiting to s1
the schools founders to sign off on the relase form.

Thank You So Much for your help with this matter .

To:-----

From: Betts, Abby (Governor) [mailto:abby.bettsstate.de.usl

Sent: Tuesday, October 06,2015 2:59PM

Subject: regarding your son


Importance: High

My email address i5 abby.betts@state.de.us


Please include your address, your son name, date of birth, what school he attends and the letter that you sent requE
To be taken out of the charter school.
Thanks

Screen clipping taken: 10/15/2015 9:25AM

10

From: Johnson Donna R [mailto :donna.j9hnson@sbe.k:12.de.usl


Sent: Tuesday, October 06, 2015 1:27 PM

To:--~~~~---

Cc: Gray Teri; Alvarez Cristina; Melendez Jorge; steve.godowsky@doe.k12.de.us; Nagourney Jennifer
Subject Re: 3rd attemnpt to try to reach Mrs Alverz
Thank you for your letter,llllllilill
I have forwarded this letter to the Charter School Office of the Department of Education so that they may follow up o
Donna Johnson (Sent from my iPad)
Executive Director
State Board of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901-3639
302-735-4010
www.destateboarded.k12.de.us
Twitter: @destateboarded
On Oct 6, 2015, at 12:59 PM, Doles- Faheem, Irene M <IDoles-Faheem@Christianacare.org> wrote:

<release letter design lab.docx>

From=

To:

Sent: Tuesday, October 06, 2015 4:33PM


Johnson Donna R
Subject RE: 3rd attemnpt to try to reach Mrs Alverz
Thanks you for response, I have already been in contact with the Board of Education spoken with Shelia lawrence anc
for my son to be released and place. 1 have been to the school on several occasions requesting this information and tt
son. Atthis point I starting to feel ignored by the Board of Education ......

Thank you

Screen clipping taken: 10/15/2015 9:29AM

11

To:-----

From: Johnson Donna R [!1@ilp:don~.jotmson@sbe.kl2.de.usJ


Sent Tuesday, October 06, 2.015 5:03 PM
C<:: Nagoumey Jennifer

Subjed: RE: 3rd attemnpt to try to reach Mrs Atverz

Your email today was the first email I have received regarding this situation, thus I do not feel that you are being igno
that it was received. Sheila lawrence does not work for the State Board of Education. She works for the Department
Charter School Office, fs aware of this issue, has been in communication regarding it over the past two weeks and will
year agreement is one that can be acted on by the Design Lab Board or the Design lab Director, not the State Board a
talks directly to the School leader and the Design lab's board president.
Vo-n+1.t.t.]~

Executive Director
State Board of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901-3639
302-735-4010

~.
~

www.destateboarded.kU.de.u.s
Twitter: @destateboarded

Screen clipping taken: 10/15/2015 9:29AM

Good Morning
I wanted to apologize for my wording when I stated that I was being ignored by the Board of Education I left out the~
been in contact with The Department of Education's Charter School Office and spoke with Ms. lawrence on several c
Jennifer Nagoumey, the director I have yet hear or receive any response from her regarding this issue at all overth1
from his first year agreement is one that can be acted on by the Design lab Board or the Design lab Director, howeve
my letter requesting the releasement of child and forwarded all email to the Principal Mr. Bennett and to Mrs. Cristin
of my emails ... So yes I am reaching out to the Board of Education of Delaware for some assistance, to whom I thougt
supply me with a contact name or phone to whom is willing to communicate with me regarding to this matter ..
Thank you so much for your time .

12

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Cc:

Tuesday, October 27, 2015 12:11 PM


MACPHEE EVELYN
Carwell John; Lawrence Sheila; Nagourney Jennifer; Sadowski John; Stover Debbie;-

Subject:

Re: Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

Sent:
To:

Good Afternoon,
Per our conversation this morning I want to follow up with you regarding my son
As of yesterday
Design Lab has agreed to release- and his education funds to another school (feeder school is Glasgow). I
received a call from DOE Gen Naoumey and Debbie Stover) late yesterday afternoon stating Glasgow will not
accep~due to non-agreement between schools. Please provide any feedback you have received at your
earliest convenience. I'm anticipating~ to be enroll in Glasgow by the end of the week.
Thank you,

From: Lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>


To: Alvarez Cristina <calvarez@design-labschools.org>; William Bennett <William.Bennett@design-lab.k12.de.us>
Cc:

Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us>; Nagourney Jennifer


<Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us>; Sadowski John <john.sadowski@doe.k12.de.us>; Stover Debbie
<debbie.stover@doe.k12.de.us>
Sent: Thursday, October 15, 2015 8:48 AM
Subject: FW: Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

Dear School Leader:


The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern at
Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office
(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 10/14/2015


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information

Issue Description: Received an email from Debbie Stover about a complaint from a parent. I called the parent
and spoke with her directly and she stated that she was unsatisfied with the school's structure, curriculum,
activities and false advertisement of what the school promised to deliver. She feels that her son is in the 1Oth
grade and is missing out on credits that he will need to graduate from high school. There are no morning
announcements, no structure for the students, no after school activities, homecoming, rosters, computers,
laptops, homework, school books, etc. Besides all of the above, it takes her son 2 hours to and from school
when the drive is only 10 minutes.
Also, she mentioned there was a fight in her son's classroom that a teacher was hit and the language that the
teacher spoke to the students to break them up was inappropriate which is captured on video. We do have a
copy of the video that took place. She is looking into finding another school for her son because at 2nd marking

period she fears that her son is far behind in his education. She is requesting her son be released from 1st year
contract since you broke the contract by not delivering what you said you would have at your school. She is also
threatening to go to the Governor and legislators if nothing is done in a timely manner.

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Sent:
To:

Cc:
Subject:

cristina alvarez <cristina.alvarez@design-labschools.org >


Monday, October 26, 2015 6:38 PM
Nagourney Jennifer
Alvarez Cristina
Re: Please Call Me Today-

Hi Jennifer:
A staff member will gladly do so first thing in the morning. We're happy to support mom and student to attend
the school where they will be happy.
~Dr.

Alvarez

On Oct 26,2015, at 3:33PM, Nagoumey Jennifer <Jennifer.Nagoumey@doe.kl2.de.us> wrote:


<image003 .gif>
Dr. Alvarez,
is requesting a copy of her first year agreement. When you have a moment,
would you or a member of your team be able to scan it and send it to us?
Many thanks,
Jen
From: MCMAHON JANET

Sent: Monday, October 26, 2015 11:41 AM


To: Stover Debbie <debbie.stover@doe.k12.de.us>; Nagourney Jennifer

<Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us>
Cc: MCMAHON JANET <JANET.MCMAHON@christina.k12.de.us>; CRUMLISH DANA H
<DANA.CRUMLISH@christina.k12.de.us>
Subject: FW: Design LabImportance: High
Hello Debbie and Jennifer,
I received a call this morning from
, mother of
, enrolled at DE Design Lab. -
- i s concerned about her son and the educational experience he is having at DE Design Lab. She
sent the email below to the registration secretary at Glasgow High School in attempt to register him
states DE Design Lab will not return her calls. She has asked that
back into his feeder school.
I forward this email to your office.
can be reached on her cell,or her work number,
Regards,
Janet

Janet M. McMahon
Specialist, Education Options
Christina School District
1

600 N. Lombard Street


Wilmington, DE 19801
302.552.2665 (phone)
302.429.4138 (fax)
janet.mcmahon@christina.k12.de.us

From: REIN DIANNE L


Sent: Monday, October 26, 2015 10:53 AM
To: MCMAHON JANET; REVELS PATRICIA A; CRUMLISH DANA H
Cc: REIN DIANNE L

Subject: Design Lab

Importance: High
mom will be calling having major issues with Design Lab, she
is in desperate need of help/advise.

d.
----- Forwarded Message ----From: Lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>
To: Alvarez Cristina <calvarez@design-labschools.org>; William Bennett <William.Bennett@design Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us>;
Nagourney
, Sadowski John
<john.sadowski@doe.k12.de.us>; Stover Debbie <debbie.stover@doe.k12.de.us>
Sent: Thursday, October 15, 2015 8:48AM
Subject: FW: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Dear School Leader:


The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent
about a concern at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue
as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office
(302) 735-4020
Contact Date: 10/14/2015
Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information: t i - l

ue Description: Received an email from Debbie Stover about a complaint from a


parent. I called the parent and spoke with her directly and she stated that she was
unsatisfied with the school's structure, curriculum, activities and false advertisement of
what the school promised to deliver. She feels that her son is in the 1Oth grade and is
missing out on credits that he will need to graduate from high school. There are no
morning announcements, no structure for the students, no after school activities,
homecoming, rosters, computers, laptops, homework, school books, etc. Besides all of
the above, it takes her son 2 hours to and from school when the drive is only 10
minutes.
Also, she mentioned there was a fight in her son's classroom that a teacher was hit and
the language that the teacher spoke to the students to break them up was inappropriate
2

which is captured on video. We do have a copy of the video that took place. She is
looking into finding another school for her son because at 2nd marking period she fears
that her son is far behind in his education. She is requesting her son be released from
1st year contract since you broke the contract by not delivering what you said you would
have at your school. She is also threatening to go to the Governor and legislators if
nothing is done in a timely manner.

d
Regards,
Dianne Rein, Guidance Secretary/Registrar
Glasgow High School
1901 South College Avenue
Newark, Delaware 19702
302-631-5610 (office) 302-454-5453 (Fax)
reind@christina.k12.de.us
<ima:ge004.png>

Nagourney Jennifer
From:
Sent:
To:
Subject:

Nagourney Jennifer
Monday, October 26, 2015 12:11 PM
Stover Debbie; Carwell John; Whalen Michelle; Lawrence Sheila
RE: Design Lab-

I have a request in for him to call me ASAP. I want the student released today.
From: Stover Debbie
Sent: Monday, October 26, 2015 12:10 PM
To: Nagourney Jennifer <Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us>; Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us>; Whalen
Michelle <Michelle.Whalen@doe.k12.de.us>; Lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>
Cc: CRUMLISH DANA H <DANA.CRUMLISH@christina.k12.de.us>; MCMAHON JANET
<JANET. MCMAHON@ christina.k12.de. us>
Subject: RE: Design Lab-a
Hi Jenn,
As you can see below, Sheila sent the complaint to DE Design Lab HS on 10/15/15. Was this escalated to the board
chair?
Thanks! Debbie
From: MCMAHON JANET
Sent: Monday, October 26, 2015 11:41 AM
To: Stover Debbie <debbie.stover@doe.k12.de.us>; Nagourney Jennifer <Jennifer.Nagourney@doe.k12.de.us>
Cc: MCMAHON JANET <JANET.MCMAHON@christina.k12.de.us>; CRUMLISH DANA H
<DANA.CRUMLISH@christina.k12.de.us>
Subject: FW: Design LabImportance: High
Hello Debbie and Jennifer,
I received a call this morning from
mother of
enrolled at DE Design Lab.
is
concerned about her son and the educational experience he is having at DE Design Lab. She sent the email below to the
registration secretary at Glasgow High School in attempt to register him back into his feeder school.
states
DE Design Lab will not return her calls. She has asked that I forward this email to your office.
can be reached on her c41or her work number,
Regards,
Janet

Janet M. McMahon
Specialist, Education Options
Christina School District
600 N. Lombard Street' :
Wilmington, DE 19801
302.552.2665 (phone)
1

302.429.4138 (fax)
janet.mcmahon@christina.k12.de.us
From: REIN DIANNE L
Sent: Monday, October 26, 2015 10:53 AM
To: MCMAHON JANET; REVELS PATRICIA A; CRUMLISH DANA H
Cc: REIN DIANNE L
Subject: Design Lab
Importance: High

mom will be calling having major issues with Design Lab, she is in
desperate need of help/advise.

d.
----- Forwarded Message ----From: Lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us>

To~ .~: tAiilivjalre~z-Ciiriisiii


;.
i til
nal<lciallvial
reizi
@idiei
sii
gn~-~
laibsiclhi
oo~l~s.~or~g>;

"'

William Bennett <William.Bennett@design-lab. k12.de.us>


; Carwell John <john.carwell@doe.k12.de.us>; Nagourney Jennifer
John <john.sadowski@doe.k12.de.us>; Stover Debbie

<debbie.stover@doe.k12.de.us>
Sent: Thursday, October 15, 2015 8:48 AM
Subject: FW: Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

Dear School Leader:


The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office
(302) 735-4020
Contact Date: 10/14/2015
Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information:

Issue Description: Received an email from Debbie Stover about a complaint from a parent. I called
the parent and spoke with her directly and she stated that she was unsatisfied with the school's
structure, curriculum, activities and false advertisement of what the school promised to deliver. She
feels that her son is in the 1Oth grade and is missing out on credits that he will need to graduate from
high school. There are no morning announcements, no structure for the students, no after school
activities, homecoming, rosters, computers, laptops, homework, school books, etc. Besides all of the
above, it takes her son 2 hours to and from school when the drive is only 10 minutes.
Also, she mentioned there was a fight in her son's classroom that a teacher was hit and the language
that the teacher spoke to the students to break them up was inappropriate which is captured on
video. We do have a copy of the video that took place. She is looking into finding another school for
her son because at 2nd marking period she fears that her son is far behind in his education. She is
requesting her son be released from 1st year contract since you broke the contract by not delivering
what you said you would have at your school. She is also threatening to go to the Governor and
legislators if nothing is done in a timely manner.

d
Regards,
Dianne Rein, Guidance Secretary/Registrar
Glasgow High School
1901 South College Avenue
Newark, Delaware 19702
302-631-5610 (office) 302-454-5453 (Fax)

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Lawrence Sheila
Wednesday, October 21, 2015 3:13 PM
Alvarez Cristina; Urban, Matt
Stover Debbie; Carwell John; Nagourney Jennifer
Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School
Donaldson J_001.pdf

Sent:
To:

Cc:
Subject:
Attachments:

Dear School

Leade~

The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office

(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 10/21/2015


Method of Contact: Email
Parent Contact Information=

Issue Description: Parent has complaint against school because of false advertisement and school
doesn't have any of the things they had promised to have during enrollment time. Parent is
requesting student transfer back to feeder pattern school; however, it doesn't fall under "Good Cause"
law.
We are requesting that you respond to the attached letter from parent as soon as possible and keep
Department of Education; Charter School Office in the loop.

Oct 191504:12p

United Check Cashing Bear

p.1
iO- I 'f-

3028323652

I'm writing this letter as a concerned parent regarding my daughter

i5

She is currently

enrolled at the Design Lab high school in the 101h grade. I would like for her to be let out of her contract
regarding that school. The school is not what it was made out to be. The school was opened unprepared
for students and falsely advertised opportunities for students to be involved in. I know by word of
mouth a few students were le1 out of their contract and returned to their school that they were
originally supposed to go to,_is very unhappy a~out her school situation. As a parent I would rather
my child be at her assigned school (Glasgow High School) where she is given many opportunities to

advance her education and extracurricular activities. Grades are more prone to drop if a child is unhappy
about a school situation and my child's grades play a big part In her future. My child will be attending
college after she graduates high school and maintaining good grades is a major factor. The school
mislead my daughter and I on opportunities I thought the school would provide, such as they have no
sport~

planned on running track this year as it played a big role for her In middle school. Gym nor

driver's education is available an

coked forward to both of these classes. I also was told teachers

do not respect students as they should, talking in a proper manner is very important, it displays respect
for one another. As a parent I'm not satisfied with this school, the school doesn't seem prepared for

anything. I want to avoid my child being unhappy or even worst dropping out so if I can change that by
speaking on ller behalf I will.~rote a letter already but we have yet gotten a response, so I'm
writing and hopefully somebody well be able to help us. Thank you in advance for your time. My name is

aMy

number is if you any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to

reach me.

EDIJC,.

'' '.,~

,, OPTIONS

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

cristina alvarez <cristina.alvarez@design-labschools.org >


Friday, October 16, 2015 2:02 PM
Lawrence Sheila
Alvarez Cristina; William Bennett; s_lisa6@yahoo.com; Carwell John; Nagourney
Jennifer; Sadowski John; Stover Debbie
Re: Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

Sent:
To:

Cc:
Subject:

Hello All:
Thank you for passing on this information. I spoke via telephone with
and answered her expressed
issues and questions. I believe all is well and will remain in communication with the family. Mom will reach
out to you to offer feedback.
Thank you,
~Dr.

Alvarez

On Oct 15, 2015, at 8:48AM, Lawrence Sheila <sheila.lawrence@doe.k12.de.us> wrote:


Dear School

Leade~

The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent
about a concern at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue
as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office

(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 10/14/2015


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information:

Issue Description: Received an email from Debbie Stover about a complaint from a
parent. I called the parent and spoke with her directly and she stated that she was
1

unsatisfied with the school's structure, curriculum, activities and false advertisement of
what the school promised to deliver. She feels that her son is in the lOth grade and is
missing out on credits that he will need to graduate from high school. There are no
morning announcements, no structure for the students, no after school activities,
homecoming, rosters, computers, laptops, homework, school books, etc. Besides all of
the above, it takes her son 2 hours to and from school when the drive is only 10
minutes.
Also, she mentioned there was a fight in her son's classroom that a teacher was hit and
the language that the teacher spoke to the students to break them up was
inappropriate which is captured on video. We do have a copy of the video that took
place. She is looking into finding another school for her son because at 2nd marking
period she fears that her son is far behind in his education. She is requesting her son be
released from 1st year contract since you broke the contract by not delivering what you
said you would have at your school. She is also threatening to go to the Governor and
legislators if nothing is done in a timely manner.

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Lawrence Sheila
Wednesday, October 21, 2015 3:13 PM
Alvarez Cristina; Urban, Matt
Stover Debbie; Carwell John; Nagourney Jennifer
Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School
Donaldson J_OOl.pdf

Sent:
To:
Cc:
Subject:
Attachments:

Dear School

Leade~

The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office

(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 10/21/2015


Method of Contact: Email
Parent Contact Information:

Issue Description: Parent has complaint against school because of false advertisement and school
doesn't have any of the things they had promised to have during enrollment time. Parent is
requesting student transfer back to feeder pattern school; however, it doesn't fall under "Good Cause"
law.
We are requesting that you respond to the attached letter from parent as soon as possible and keep
Department of Education; Charter School Office in the loop.

Oct 191504:12p

United Check Cashing Bear

p. 1

3028323652

iO-I'i-i5

t'm writing this letter as a concerned parent regarding my daughter

. She is currently

enrolled at the Design Lab high school in the 101h grade. I would like for her to be let out of her contract
regarding that school. The school Is nl:lt what it was made out to be. The school was opened unprepared
for students and falsely advertised opportunities for students to be involved in. I know by word of
mouth a few students were let out of their contract and returned to their school that they were
originally supposed to go t o . - i s very unhappy about her school situation. As a parent I would rather
my child be at her assigned school (Glasgow Hign School) where she is given many opportunities to
advance her education and extracurricular activities. Grades are more prone to drop if a child is unhappy
about a school situation and my child's grades play a big part In her future. My child will be attending
college after she graduates high school and maintaining good grades is a major factor. The school
mislead my daughter and I on opportunities I thought the school would provide, such as they have no
sports. ~lanned on running track this year as it played a big role for her in middle school. Gym nor

driver's education is available and Jiasia looked forward to both of these classes. I also was told teachers
do not respect students as they should, talking in a proper manner is very important, it displays respect
for one another. As a parent I'm not satisfied with this school, the school doesn't seem prepared for
anything. I want to avoid my child being unhappy or even worst dropping out so if I can change that by
speaking on her behalf I will. ~rote a letter alreadv but we have yet gotten a response, so I'm
writing and hopefully somebody well be able to help us. Thank you in advance for your time. My name is
My number i s if you any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to
reach me.

,_E_D_LJ_( .-:, ,.,~ v UPT!ONS

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Lawrence Sheila
Tuesday, September 29, 2015 3:08 PM
Alvarez Cristina; William Bennett
Carwell John; Nagourney Jennifer; ymartin@christianacare.org
Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

Sent:
To:

Cc:
Subject:

Dear School

Leade~

The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office
(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 9/29/2015


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information:

Issue Description: Parent has been trying to connect with Dr. Alvarez since 9/18/15 for the release of
her daughter. She asked that a letter be written to her in order for her to release student from school.
Letter has been written and given to Dr. Alvarez and she has never wrote the release letter since
9/18/15. She feels that she is deliberately waiting for the 9/30/15 enrollment count. Please contact the
parent and let the Charter School Office know the end result to close complaint.

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Charter School Office Collaboration Site <no-reply@sharepointonline.com>


Thursday, September 24, 2015 11:34 AM
Lawrence Sheila
Nagourney Jennifer; Carwell John
Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

Sent:
To:

Cc:
Subject:

Head of School Email Address: calvarez@design-labsc:hools.org

Dear School

Leade~

The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office
(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 9/24/2015


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information:

Issue Description:
(parent) called our office to inform us that she has been waiting for
almost a week for the revised release letter that was requested for the incoming school in order for
her daughter,
to transfer to William Penn High School. Mr. Fletcher promised that
he would email parent and William Penn High School the revised and the school and parent is still
waiting for the letter. Meanwhile,
(daughter) has missed over 2 weeks of school because of
the 1st letter lacking information and waiting for the revised letter.
Also, parent stated that as a requirement to enroll in your school she had to purchase two shirts and a
uniform for gym in which her daughter wasn't scheduled for physical education for this school year.
She asked to be reimbursed $26 for the uniform and was told she would; please let her know a
timeline of when to expect her reimbursement check from your school.
We asked that you contact the parent and William Penn High School (302) 323-2800 to straighten her
transfer transition out along with reimbursing her as promised. Please keep us informed of the end
results. Thank you.
1

Nagourney Jennifer
Lawrence Sheila
Monday, September 21, 2015 3:01 PM

From:

Sent:
To:

FW: Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School

Subject:

From: Lawrence Sheila


Sent: Monday, September 21, 2015 2:32PM
To: Alvarez Cristina; William Bennett

Cc: Carwell John;


Subject: Parent Complaint- Delaware Design-Lab High School

Dear School

Leade~

The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office

(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 9/21/2015


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information:

Issue Description: Parent has concerns with the curriculum not being offered as advertised. No stembased curriculum, no foreign languages, no laptops, and no computer labs. Please contact the parent
and resolve the matter in question. She can be reached at the number and email address provided.

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Sent:

Thursday, September 10, 2015 1:40 PM

To:

Lawrence Sheila; Carwell John


john.carwell@doe.k.12.de.us
RE:
RELEASE FROM DESIGN LAB SCHOOL

Cc:
Subject:

Thankyou,~lllll

I have forwarded your e-mail to our Superintendent, Dr. Holodick. He is out ofthe office until tomorrow afternoon, but I
have asked that he call you with our decision upon his return.

Best regards,

The e-mail and any attachments may be confidential or legally privileged. If you receive this message in error or are nat the intended recipient, you should destroy the
e-mail and any attachments, and you are prohibited from retaining, disclosing, or using any information contained herein. Please infarm us of the erroneous delivery
by return e-mail. Thank you for your cooperation.

From:

jlllliii~~-~~~ll!l~jijiijililiii.i

Sent: Thursday, September 10, 2015 1:17PM

To: Shinn Kate; Lawrence Sheila; Carwell John


Cc: john.carwell@doe.k.12.de.us

Subject: RE:

RELEASE FROM DESIGN LAB SCHOOL

Dear
Thank you for taking the time to talk to me on the phone today regarding my daughte
My concerns became validated with transferring my daughter to Concord High school when I went in to talk
to the Assistant Principal Mr. Joseph Mock on Thursday September 3rd at Design-lab high school.
I feel that the school is not quite ready with the concept that they have planned.
The school have given false pretenses during the initial enrollment.
My Daughter expectations was to have at least one art class or animation class and neither one has been
offered. Along with
wanted to have a 4 year foreign language classes. My daughter is very talented in
her arts and animations, and wants to utilized those skills.
When I did mention after school activities that was stated in open house. Mr. Mock said that it would
be created base on interest by the student, I had feelings of doubts and preconceived notions about this
charter school, he also stated to see if it would fit in the budget.
I don't want my daughter advance education to be jeopardized because of laws and regulations, I need to get
her release as soon as possible ..
Forward this letter, who has the authority to make this happen.
Thank you.

P.S. As of Thursday September 10, 2015 @1:15 I have not gotten a response from design-lab school
it will be one week tomorrow the initial letter written.

This email is intended for the designated recipient(s) only, and may be confidential, non-public, proprietary,
protected by the attorney/client or other privilege. Unauthorized reading, distribution, copying or other use of
this communication is prohibited and may be unlawful. Receipt by anyone other than the intended recipient(s)
should not be deemed a waiver of any privilege or protection. If you are not the intended recipient or if you
believe that you have received this email in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete all copies
from your computer system without reading, saving, or using it in any manner. Although it has been checked
for viruses and other malicious software ("malware"), we do not warrant, represent or guarantee in any way that
this communication is free of malware or potentially damaging defects. All liability for any actual or alleged
loss, damage, or injury arising out of or resulting in any way from the receipt, opening or use of this email is
expressly disclaimed.

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Sent:
To:

Cc:

Subject:
Attachments:

Lawrence Sheila
Thursday, September 10, 2015 9:02 AM
Alvarez Cristina
William Bennett; Carwell John;
FW: Parent Complaint - Delaware Design-Lab High School
t release letter.doc

Dear School Leader:


The DOE Charter School Office has received the following information from a parent about a concern
at Delaware Design-Lab High School. We ask you to resolve the issue as quickly as possible.
Many thanks,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Charter School Office
(302) 735-4020

Contact Date: 9/9/2015


Method of Contact: Phone
Parent Contact Information:

Issue Description: Parent has requested to have her child released from your school and asked to set
up meeting to discuss further. She has sent a letter (attached) to Dr. Alvarez listing her concerns for
the release. Please contact her at (302) 743-3712.

September 3, 2015
Dear Dr. Christina C. Alvarez, Chief Executive Officer and Distinguish Board of Directors:
I am writing this letter in behalf of my d a u g h t e r
After much consideration and in depth conversation with my
come to the
transfer to a more traditional high school.
conclusion that it is in the best interest for
As require by me I'm providing you this letter.
I've been asked to give you valid reasons for this request.
1) From the very beginning
believed there would be a variety of art classes as part of the
curriculum which she could immediately signed up for and participation in.
2)
has had foreign language classes in 7th and gth grade and she was looking forward to
continuing her studies in foreign language in all four years in high school.
3) Most important to me as a parent...Q
has told me that there are some students in her
classes that seem to be older. (in age). Danielle feels uneasy and has expressed a certain
amount of apprehension.
Dear Educators,
I fully admire your dedication and vision in respect to creating the Delaware Design-Lab high school.
I truly believe your school is and will remain a success.
In conclusion, I request your cooperation which is essential to release my daughte~om the
enrollment agreement. Furthermore, I ask you to please expedite this request. I would like to transition
1
ack to the Brandywine school District as quickly as possible. I'm sure you would agree time
is of the essence. I will include the address and contact person below to further help expedite my
request.
Brandywine School District
1311 Brandywine Blvd
Wilmington, DE 19809
Attn: _ __

iJ

Best Wishes Sincerely,

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Sent:
To:

Subject:

Lawrence Sheila
Tuesday, July 21, 2015 11:11 AM
Carwell John
FW: Delaware Designlab

John,
I am not sure why Jen forwarded this email to me; however, I did notice that you were the liaison for the school.
Regards,
Sheila Kay-Lawrence
Department of Education
Charter School Office
Dover, DE 19904
(302) 735-4020
From: Nagourney Jennifer

Sent: Tuesday, July 21, 2015 9:15AM


To: Lawrence Sheila
Subject: Fwd: Delaware Designlab

Sent from my iPhone


Begin forwarded message:
From: May Alison <alison.may@doe.k12.de.us>
Date: July 21, 2015 at 9:08:46 AM EDT
To: Nagoumey Jennifer <Jennifer.Nagoumey@doe.k12.de.us>
Subject: FW: Delaware DesignLab
Can you advise on how to respond to this? Not sure if school moving is good cause?
From: Andrianopoulos Alexis [mailto:Aiexis.Andrianopoulos@bsd.k12.de.us]

Sent: Tuesday, July 21, 2015 9:00AM


To: May Alison
Subject: FW: Delaware DesignLab

Hi. I am not sure if she wants her son to go to a BSD school, but regardless do you have any insight or
advice?

Alexis Andrianopoulos
Public Information Officer
Brandywine School District
302-793-5068

Good day.
I applied for my son to go to Delaware Design Lab back in February when I thought they were
going to be in Wilmington. Now that we know the campus is going to be in Christiana I do not
want him to go there.
I signed my enrollment form prior to them moving the campus to Christiana. I am a single parent
from overseas who has no support system here and I wish my son to be closer to home, meaning
at his feeder school.
Also, my son suffers from severe asthma which is why I wanted to keep him closer to home.
Delaware design labs new school is surrounded by trees. My son is highly allergic to tree pollen.
I have a signed doctors note that says he cannot go to that school because it is
surrounded by trees and is in an old moldy church. Another Asthma trigger.
Even with a doctors note and after being misled by Delaware Design Lab, they will not let him
out of his enrollment stating it's a contract which I don't agree with.
Please advise if there is any action I can take to move him to the school I choose. I feel like I am
being held hostage by this upstart charter, and will not be a willing participate of that school, as I
feel their reasons to keep their enrollment numbers up are no short of guerilla tactics.
Please advise.
Regards,

Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S 5, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

This email is intended for the designated recipient(s) only, and may be confidential, non-public,
proprietary, protected by the attorney/client or other privilege. Unauthorized reading,
distribution, copying or other use of this communication is prohibited and may be unlawful.
Receipt by anyone other than the intended recipient( s) should not be deemed a waiver of any
privilege or protection. If you are not the intended recipient or if you believe that you have
received this email in error, please notify the sender immediately and delete all copies from your
computer system without reading, saving, or using it in any manner. Although it has been
checked for viruses and other malicious software ("malware"), we do not warrant, represent or
guarantee in any way that this communication is free of malware or potentially damaging
defects. All liability for any actual or alleged loss, damage, or injury arising out of or resulting in
any way from the receipt, opening or use of this email is expressly disclaimed.
2

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Sent:
To:

Subject:

Tuesday, July 28, 2015 10:54 AM


infocso
vs. Delaware Design Lab

Good Day,
I have not had a response from your offices yet in relation to the calls I made last week.
Please advise if any progress has been made.
Regards,

This message (including any attachments) contains confidential information intended for a specific
individual and purpose, and is protected by law. If you are not the intended recipient, you should delete
this message and any disclosure, copying, or distribution of this message, or the taking of any action
based on it, by you is strictly prohibited.

v.E.l

Nagourney Jennifer
From:

Sent:

Tuesday, July 28, 2015 11:21 AM

To:

Cc:
Subject:

Good Day.
I have already had the exit interview to be released from enrollment so that he can attend his feeder school Mt.
Pleasant, but was told no.
I am contacting you to make sure that all of my concerns were heard.

1.

2.

3.

4.

I signed an Enrollment form, not a contract, and if it was a contract it should have been more clear. I read the
wording as; ... my child will have to remain at DDL for a year; which I took to be once he had begun, not that I
was making a contract. I spoke at length and in depth to Ms. R. Church over the phone and at events that I was
not even sure if we were going to be in the country after I graduated in May. We came here from overseas so
that I could go back to school. Once finished I was not sure what my son would be doing. My situation is still
precarious. With my situation being precarious, I should not have been encouraged to sign a contract, just so
that you could get the numbers. I should have been given an option to enroll once I knew what I was doing and
where we were going to be.
I signed the form in March, when I thought your school was going to be in Wilmington. I am a single parent, I
work in
If I have to collect my son from school, I will have to drive an hour, losing money from my
job. If he was located in Wilmington, he could walk home as he had been doing for middle school.
My son has severe allergies and asthma, triggered by dust, mold, cut grass and trees. Your new location is a
dusty, moldy old building, surrounded by trees. If you were in a more urban location, I would be less
apprehensive. I have obtained and submitted a doctor's note to state that the schools environment is not
conducive to my child's health and well-being.
I feel like we are being held hostage to your school out of concern for your numbers, but not out of concern for
my child's health or my sanity having to deal with a school so far from home.

I hope you had taken all of these into consideration when you told us no, we could not be released from
enrollment. My next move is to employ a lawyer, as I feel that the enrollment form was not clearly defined as a
document that would commit me to your school for a year prior to my son even beginning, and that I signed it
before knowing your school was going to be located in Christiana.
I do not think we should be forced to attend a school that we really do not wish to attend.
Please respond as immediate as possible, as I would like to enroll him in his feeder school so that he can feel more
settled, and less up in the air about where he is going to end up. Please think of the welfare of my child in making
your decision. It is not best for him to be forced to attend your school.
Thank you for your immediate attention to this matter.
Regards,