8 Fe bruary 2011

At the second regular session of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (Union Parliament) held this morning at the parliament building in Nay Pyi Taw with the Speaker of Amyotha Hluttaw acting as the Speaker of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw, President of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar U Thein Sein put up to the Speaker his intention to form the Union Government with 34 ministries, the state-owned TV announced at 6 pm (BST) this evening. In putting up his intention to form the Union Government with 34 ministries, U Thein Sein made it clear that there should be only 30 ministers handling these 34 ministries, the TV further announced. In studying these 34 ministries, it is found out that there were 32 ministries during the period of the government of State Peace and Development Council ( SPDC ). Among the 34 ministries proposed by President U Thein Sein, the two new ministries are the Ministry for President’s Office and the Ministry for Myanma Industrial Development. The proposed 34 ministries as mentioned by the TV are as follows: 1. Ministry of Defence, 2. Ministry of Home Affairs, 3. Ministry of Border Affairs, 4. Mini try of Foreign Affairs, 5. Ministry of Information, 6. Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation, 7. Ministry of Finance and Revenue, 8. Ministry of Construction, 9. Ministry of National Planning and Economic Development, 10. Ministry of Commerce, 11. Ministry of Communication, 12. Ministry of Social Welfare, 13. Ministry of Forestry, 14. Ministry of Livestock and Fisheries, 15. Ministry of Mines, 16. Ministry of Cooperatives, 17. Ministry for Labour, 18. Ministry of Transportation, 19. Ministry of Hotels and Tourism, 20. Ministry of Industry (1), 21. Ministry of Industry (2), 22. Ministry of Rail Transportation, 23. Ministry of Energy, 24. Ministry of Electric Power ( 1 ), 25. Ministry of Electric Power (2), 26. Ministry of Education, 27. Ministry of Helath, 28. Ministry of Culture, 29. Ministry of Religious Affairs, 30. Ministry of Science and Technology, 31. Ministry of Immigration and Man Power, 32. Ministry of Sports, 33. Ministry for President Office and 34. Ministry of Myanma Industrial Development. The second day regular session of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw was adjourned this afternoon to tomorrow morning in order for the representatives to discuss on whether the new government should have 34 ministries and 30 ministers for handling them as proposed by President Thein Sein.

Political Defiance Committee (PDC)

•email: people@graceinpeace.com

Sign up to vote on this title
UsefulNot useful