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Finance
Functions
Financial accounting dictates the amounts you owe to suppliers, what customers owe you,
operating costs, payroll costs and available cash. You can use financial accounting to
analyze significant aspects of your business, such as monthly sales or the reasons for high
expenses in one month. Sound financial records demonstrate financial controls and
oversight that reduce the risk of fraud and theft, something that investors like to see.
Financial accounting helps you formulate your future course of action or strategy and
measure the success of this strategy with the financial information produced from another
period.
Marketing Functions
Marketing Planning
Branding
Pricing of Products
. Promotion
Physical Distribution
Transportation
Storage or Warehousing
Advertising
Various costs fall into one of these three categories based on the cause and
effect relationships involved.
* Cause and effect relationship A relationship in which one event makes another
event happen.
Discretionary Cost
A discretionary cost is a cost or capital expenditure that can be curtailed or even eliminated in the
short term without having an immediate impact on the short-term profitability of a business.
Management may reduce discretionary costs when there are cash flow difficulties, or when it
wants to present enhanced short-term earnings in the financial statements. However, a prolonged
period of reduction in discretionary costs gradually reduces the quality of a company's product
pipeline, reduces awareness by customers, increases machine downtime, and may also decrease
product quality and increase employee turnover. Thus, discretionary costs are actually only
discretionary in the short-term, not the long-term.
Many activities are viewed as beneficial to an organization, even though the benefits obtained or
value added by performing these activities cannot be defined precisely , either before or after the
activity is completed.The costs of the inputs, or resources required to perform such activities are
referred to as discretionary costs.
These costs are discretionary in the sense that management must choose the desired level of the
activity based on intuition or experience .
Examples includes employee training, advertising, sales promotion, legal advice, Employee training
Equipment maintenance, Quality control, Research and development, Building Maintenance etc.
Engineered costs
Engineered costs result from activities with reasonably well defined cause and effect
relationships between inputs and outputs and costs and benefits.
Engineers can specify precisely how many parts (inputs) are required to generate a specific
output.
Engineered cost are committed at the design stage of a product like direct material and direct
labour. Once the design is final, engineered cost are strictly proportional to the output
volume. Managers will focus mostly on efficiency or productivity.
3. The optimal amount of input required to produce one unit of output can be established.
In an engineered expense center, the Quantity multiplied by the standard cost or each unit
produced represents what the finished products have the cost. When these cost is compared
to actual cost , the difference between the two represents the efficiency of the organization
unit being measured.
E.g. Direct Material cost per unit, Direct labor per unit, Manufacturing ohs per unit etc.
Committed costs
Committed costs refers to the costs associated with establishing and maintaining the readiness
to conduct business. It has been committed by Management
The benefits obtained from these expenditures are represented by the company's infrastructure.
A committed cost is an investment that a business entity has already made and cannot recover
by any means, as well as obligations already made that the business cannot get out of it. You
should be aware of which costs are committed costs when you are reviewing company
expenditures for possible cutbacks or asset sales. Committed cost will continue even if an
organization shuts down for a short time
For example, if a company buys a machine for $40,000 and also issues a purchase order to pay
for a maintenance contract for $2,000 in each of the next three years, all $46,000 is a committed
cost, because the company has already bought the machine, and has a legal obligation to pay for
the maintenance. A multi-year property lease agreement is also a committed cost for the full
term of the lease, since it is extremely difficult to terminate a lease agreement.
There is usually a long-term legal agreement associated with a committed cost. If not, it is much
easier to negotiate the termination of an expense.
Examples 1. the costs associated with the purchase of a franchise, a patent, copy rights.
2. The cost of facilities and top management- These cost can not be eliminated without exposing
an organizations overall health and existence.
Marketing ROI
It is different from Corporate ROI. because marketing is not the same kind of
investment
Here manufacturing and marketing department are two different profit center so
performance measurement will be separate.
Instead of money that is 'tied' up in plants and inventories (often considered capital
expenditure or CAPEX), marketing funds are typically 'risked.' Marketing spending is
typically expensed in the current period (operational expenditure or OPEX). The idea
of measuring the markets response in terms of sales and profits is not new, but terms
such as marketing ROI and ROMI are used more frequently now than in past periods.
Usually, marketing spending will be deemed as justified if the ROMI is positive.
Construction
Return on Marketing Investment (ROMI) =
[Incremental Revenue Attributable to Marketing ($) X Contribution Margin (%)
Marketing Spending ($)] /Marketing Spending ($)
A necessary step in calculating ROMI is the estimation of the incremental sales attributable to marketing.
These incremental sales can be 'total' sales attributable to marketing or 'marginal.'
Short term
The first, short-term ROMI, is also used as a simple index measuring the dollars of revenue
(or market share, contribution margin or other desired outputs) for every dollar of marketing spend.
For example, if a company spends $100,000 on a direct mail advertising and it delivers $500,000 in
incremental revenue, then the ROMI factor is 5.0. If the incremental contribution margin for that $500,000
revenue is 60%, then the margin ROMI (the incremental margin for $100,000 of marketing spent is
$300,000 (= $500,000 x 60%). Of which, the $100,000 spent on direct mail advertising will be subtracted
and the difference will be divided by the same $100,000 . Every dollar expended in direct mail advertising
translates an additional $2 on the company's bottomline.
CVP ANALYSIS
Cost Volume profit analysis means any analysis to study the effect or impact on cost and
profit of changes in volume, and vice versa.
It helps to know the break even level for an organization where total revenue equalize the
total cost.
Change
Impact/Effect
BE units- Increase
Cont/Sales ratio- Same
MOS Decrease
The reverse of above
b) Decrease
In variable cost a) Increase
b) Decrease
In sale price: a) Increase
b) Decrease
In sales Unit a) Increase
b) decrease
BE units- Increase
Cont/Sales ratio- decrease
MOS Decrease
The reverse of above
BE units- decrease
Cont/Sales ratio- Increase
MOS Increase
Profit - Increase
The reverse of above
Margin of Safety and profit Increase
Margin of Safety and profit decrease
Assumptions;
Fixed cost remain static & marginal costs are completely variable at all levels of output.
Factor prices (raw material, Labor etc) are constant at all sales volume .
ELEMENTS
CONTRIBUTION MARGIN .
MARGIN OF SAFETY.
CONTRIBUTION MARGIN-
x 100
MARGIN OF SAFETY ;
Profit
p/v ratio
Or
Profit
Assignment 1
Assignment 2
Assignment 3
New break even sales if variable cost increase by Rs.3 pu without increase in
selling price.
Assignment 4
Ridewell Cogcle Ltd purchases 20000 bells per annum from an outside supplier
at Rs.5 each. The Management feels that these be manufactured and not
purchased. A machine costing Rs. 50000 will be required to manufacture the
item within the factory. The machine has an annual capacity of 30000 units and
life of 5 years. The following additional information is available
Variable overheads
I. The company should continue to purchase the bells from the outside
supplier or should make them in the factory
II the company should accept an order to supply 5000 bells to the market at
a selling price of Rs. 4.50 per unit ?
Rs. 1.00
Assignment 5
A company has annual Fixed cost of Rs. 1400000. In 2004 sales amounted to
Rs. 6000000 as compared with Rs. 4500000 in 2003 and profit in 2004 was Rs.
420000 higher than in 2003. a) At what level of sales does the company break
even ?
Assignment 6
Material cost 120 Labour Cost 30 Overhead is 12
Selling price 270
Fixed cost 14 lakhs
Sales 40.5 lakhs.
During forthcoming year direct workers will be entitled a rise in 10%
Material cost will rise by 7.5% and overhead by 5%
Fixed cost will rise by 3%
Find New sales price in the forthcoming year if current P/V ratio is to be
maintained.
Number of units that would require to be sold during the forthcoming year to
have the same amount of profit in the current year without increasing the
selling price.
Assignment 7
The following data refer to a single product , the techwhiz, made by the Markdata Computer
company:
Facilities Cost = ( for a highly automated plant mainly includes rent, insurance , taxes and
Depreciation) = 2352000 per year.
Required
What is the desired level of sales unit if the company plans to increase Fixed cost by 5% and to
achieve a desired before Tax profit of Rs. 200000
If the companys income Tax rate is 22 percent what unit sales are necessary to achieve an after
tax profit of Rs. 150000
ROI =
Net Profit
X 100
Capital Employed
Further Decomposed it is the multiplication of Net Profit Ratio and Capital turnover
Ratio
NPR is NP/Sales
Capital Turnover Ratio indicates the efficiency of the organization with which the
capital employed is being utilized. A high capital turnover ratio indicates the capability
of the organization to achieve maximum sales with minimum amount of capital
employed. Higher the capital turnover ratio better will be the situation.
Particular
Total
NonMarketin
g
marketing
remarks
10% represents
automobiles ,warehouse,
office equipment by MKTG
Capital Employed
Fixed Asset
100
90
10
Working Capital
100
40
60
Total
200
130
70
Sales
400
320
400
- Marginal Cost
300
270
350
Contribution
100
50
50
- Fixed Cost
Operational
40
18
22
- Financial Charges
20
13
Total
60
31
29
Net Profit
40
19
21
NMM is 21.
Assignment 1
Sales 400
Assignment 3
A company has a margin of safety at 20% and a profit of Rs.4 lakhs. If its
contribution to sales is 0.4 calculate its current sales and fixed cost.
Assignment 4
A manufacturer may have more than one product and also their
sales.
Assignment
Three products X Y and Z have their sales at 100000, 60000, 40000 respectively.
Their variable costs are 80000, 42000, 24000 respectively. Fixed cost for the firm is
27000 find out the break even sales for the firm.
If Rs.40000 sales of the product X could be shifted equally to product Y and Z then
what will be the new profit and new BEP sales for the firm.
The increase or decrease in fixed cost does not affect the P/V ratio even though it
may increase or decrease the total profit.
Increase in variable cost per unit will reduce the contribution and result to
decrease in P/V Ratio and vice versa.
The increase in P/V Ratio means lower break-even point and higher margin of
safety and vice versa.
Calculate P/V Ratio Break Even Point and Margin of safety and comment on the
situations of lowering selling price per unit in the light of previous slides
discussion.
Assignment
A company wants to buy a new machine to replace one which is having a frequent
break down. It received offers for two models M1 and M2.Further details of these
two models are given below.
Fixed overhead p.a. for M1 Rs. 240000 and for M2 Rs. 100000
You are required to find out the Break Even level of sales for each model.
The level of sales at which both the models will earn the profit of Rs. 200000
Assignment
Total Cost
22,23,000
19,83,600
24,51,000
21,43,200
Assuming stability in price with variable cost carefully controlled to reflect predetermined relationship
and an unvarying figure cost calculate the following
P/V Ratio, Fixed Cost,Fixed Cost % to Sales, Break even point and margin of safety for the year ended
2005 and 2006.
Assignment
XYZ Ltd has to decide between launching one or two similar new products. It does not have the production
capacity to launch both the product. Fixed Cost for the company is Rs.20000 p.a. Product A can be sold at
Rs.400 per item and product B at Rs.350 per item. The variable unit cost are Rs.240 for Product A and
Rs.200 for product B. The likely demand for both the products are given by the following probability
distribution. Calculate the Break-even point for both the product and estimate the profitability of these two
products.
Likely Demand
Probability of A
Probability of B
100
0.1
0.3
200
0.3
0.4
300
0.4
0.2
500
0.2
0.1
Total
1.0
1.0
2. Constraint functions : There are always certain limitations on the use of limited
resources like labour, machine, raw material etc.
3. Non Negativity condition- X and Y being the no. of units produced , cannot have
negative values. Thus both of them can assume values only greater than or equal to
zero. It expressed as x > 0 and y > 0.
For materials, the manufacturer has 750 m 2 of cotton textile and 1,000 m 2 of
polyester. Every pair of pants (1 unit) needs 1 m 2 of cotton and 2 m2 of
polyester. Every jacket needs 1.5 m2 of cotton and 1 m2 of polyester.
The price of the pants is fixed at $50 and the jacket, $40.
What is the number of pants and jackets that the manufacturer must give to
the stores so that these items obtain a maximum sale?
Assignment
Practice Problem
The manufacture also makes a profit of Rs. 6 per unit of Product A sold and
Rs. 5 per unit of product B sold.