Escolar Documentos
Profissional Documentos
Cultura Documentos
Group 5, Section C:
Arpit Jain (140102031)
Rahul Jain (140101121)
Atul Gupta (140103040)
Vivek Nayar (140103090 )
Ashish Mishra (140101034)
Mayank Gupta (140103096)
Manthan Ajwalia
(140101095)
Kaushikan Rangrajan
(140103083)
Gaming
Films
Animatio
n & VFX
Films
Entertainme
nt
OOH
Music
4.37
2.09
0.71
Animtion and
VFX
0.41
Radio
OOH
Digital
Advertisin
g
8.04
Digital
Advertising
Gaming
Radio
Value ($ Bn)
Music
0.39
0.29
0.36
0.17
Third Largest TV
Market
168 Million TV Sets
$7.9 Bn revenue
(2014)
Fast Growing
Animation
Industry
800 satellite TV
Channels
242 FM Channels
10 Mn digital cable TV
connections
$744 Mn revenues in
2014
Expected to reach
$1.6 Bn by 2019
Rising No. of
subscriptions
Expected to reach 187
million subscriptions
by 2019
DTH subscriber base
to grow by 80% to 72
Mn by 2017
32.7
29
30
25.5
25
22.2
20
15
14.4
12.7
13.7
FY'09
FY'10
16
17.5
16.9
17
FY'12
FY'13
FY'14
19.2
10
5
0
FY'08
FY'11
FY'15P
FY'16P
FY'17P
FY'18P
FY'19P
Industry is expected to grow at a CAGR of 13.98 per cent from 2014-2018 to reach
USD32.7 Billion in 2019
The next five years will see digital technologies increase their influence all across the
industry leading to a sea change in consumer behaviour across all segments
12.3
47.3
25.7
TV
Print
Films
Digital Advertising
Animation & VFX
Gaming
Radio
OOH
Music
and
OOH,
Radio
and
32.6
30.7
67.4
69.3
FY'14
FY'19F
Subscription Revenue
TV Advertising
With a growth rate of 15.8% in 2011, Indian television industry stood second when compared
with BRIC and other major developed economies
In 2014, India television industry derived its major revenues from subscription charges. The
trend is expected to remain the same through the next 5 years with minor variation
Digital Advertising
30.28%
Gaming
14.38%
Radio
18.20%
Animation
16.40%
With increasing use of internet and other digital resources, Digital Advertising
is expected to grow at the fastest rate among peers like print media, radio
and outdoor advertising.
Advertising Revenues
Sales
Total spending on advertising across all
5
4.1
15.4
39
Print
TV
Digital Advertising
OOH
Radio
36.5
Demand Drivers
Increasing
Investments
Higher FDI Inflows
Increasing M&A activity
Entry of big players
across all segment of the
industry
Policy Support
Increasing FDI limits
Digitization of cable
distribution
Increasing liberalization
and tax relaxation
Piracy
Poor Bandwidth
Lack of Digital
Payment Gateways
(Pay per view)
High Tax Incidence
Government Initiatives
FDI limit from 74 per cent to 100 per cent in cable and DTH satellite platforms
Granting industry status to the film industry for easy access to institutional
finance
Phase III auction of 839 radio channels in 294 cities Radio Industry
Development/Investments
Cinepolis India Private Limited, the Indian movie exhibition arm of Mexican
chain Cinepolis, has plans to add 60 screens to take its total count to over 250
screens by the end of 2015
STAR India, a unit of 21st Century Fox, acquired the entire broadcast business
of MAA Television Network
Skill Development
5 5
40
15
35
Animation,
VFX and
Gaming
Television
Radio
Cinema
3 9
79
New Media
Cinema
TV
VFX, Radio,
OOH and
Print
Cinepolis in India
Cinepolis in India
SWOT Analysis Of
Cinepolis
STRENGTH
1) World's 4th largest multiplex chain, with
operations in 12 countries
2) Largest operator of luxury cinema globally
3) In house gourmet food expertise
4) Strategic tie ups with Rentrak, Real-D
systems and IMAX in India
5) Can tie up with movie producers for film
promotions in Latin America
WEAKNESS
1) Lack of 1st mover advantage
2) Distributor share pretty high, nearing to
47%
3) Low social media presence
4) Improvement can be done in Staf
SWO
T
OPPORTUNIT
THREA
IES
TS
1) Low multiplex screen penetration, 1.6 per 1) Rising internet penetration, VOD, online content
million
2) Increase in discretionary spending due to
rapid urbanization and aspirational young
population
3) GST Reforms
4) Can promote its Cofee Tree as a brand like
MacDonald's, Starbucks and others.
140
125
120
100
85
82
80
Screens per million people
60
61
57
40
26
20
0
13
US
France
Spain
UK
Germany
Japan
China
7
India
Countries
Screens in India
12000
9588
10000
9600
8000
8700
8600
9350
8100
9150
9450
9500
9552
9623
7700
7700
7469
7244
7027
6000
screen count
4000
2000
888
1000
1250
1450
1750
2031
2308
2596
6815
6610
6412
6219
2870
3151
3301
3451
Multiplex Screen
Single Screen
year
%age
2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
change
Multiplex 12.6 25.0 16.0 20.7 16.1
screen
%
%
%
%
%
Single
-5.8%
0.0%
Screen 1.1%
4.9%
3.0%
Total screen 0.1% -2.6%
3.3% 0.5%
2.1%
With multiplex screens gradually increasing, and single screens declining, overall screen
penetration is supposed to remain same at 7 screens per million, but multiplex screen
penetration is expected to increase from 1.6 screens/million to around 2.5 per million (by 2020)
Source: Source: Screens in India Money Control, Emkay
Research
Market Competition
800
700
600
500
7
38
400
Total =
300
465
Screens count 200
135
100
0
Total =
330
372
Legend
PVR Organic setup
Cinemax
Inox Organic setup
10
30
95
Total = 315
232
686
250
25
83
Fame Cinemas
Satyam Cinemas
Total = 193
110
CCPL
Carnival Organic
Setup
BIG Cinemas
Glitz Cinemas
As of 2014, India had 2000 multiplex screens
HDIL Broadway
Only 4 multiplex chains (PVR, INOX, Carnival and Cinepolis) have PAN India presence
PVR, INOX, Carnival and Cinepolis together account for 66.22% of total multiplex screens in
Cinepolis Organic
India
Source:
FICCI KPMG Report 2015
Setup
FUN Cinemas
Screen count
(2014)
Major Location
465
372
Carnival Cinemas
315
Cinepolis
SRS (listed)
Sathyam Cinemas (SPI
Cinemas)
Wave
DT Cinemas
Movietime
Citypride
E Square
Others
193
48
39
Tamil Nadu
Total SCREENS
39
Punjab, UP, NCR
30
NCR, Chandigarh
27
Mumbai, NCR, Karnal, Amritsar
23
Pune
20
Maharashtra
460
Local
players
at city/state
level
Combined
cost
of these
acquisitions
is approximately
INR 2100 crores
or2031
USD 337 million. Total screens acquired in these acquisitions were
651
Average cost of screen acquisition in 2014 came around INR 5.52
crores/screen or USD 0.88 million/screen
Average EV/EBITDA for Multiplex hovers around 10-11.
PVR
Carnival
Cinemas
Cinepolis
18%
11%
340
415
445
2473
2262
2320
163
150
168
INOX Leisure
27%
450
2721
22%
179
Innovations
Cinepolis experience
Best
Cinema
Experien
ce - Just
3 clicks
away
Easiest
booking
process
Largest
legroom
in town
Incredibl
e 3D
experien
ce
Best
Sound
Quality
Stadium style
seating
Real D
Technology
Only Cinema
with 100%
digital Sound
Cofee
Tree
Android and
iOS apps
available
Free Wi-Fi
Crunchy
Popcorn
s and
Best
nachos
Largest
portion size
Best
Custom
er
service
100%
satisfaction
guaranteed
International
quality corn
Most
comfortable
seats
Light weight
3D glasses
Dolby 7.1
surround
sound
Exciting
Variety
Seats with
movable
armrests
Brightest 3D
image
High fidelity
at high
volume
Luxurious
waiting
lounge
Unlimited
Sals and
Mayonnaised
dip
Jalapeno
flavored
Service on
seat
Cinema
manager
always
available
Brand Elements
Brand Name
Logo/Symbol
Name written next to it, with an emphasis on e for the right pronunciation
Combination of yellow and blue to convey that the brand stands for happiness and fun
URL
Parent companys URL carries the name alone, a good way to show authenticity and uniqueness
Indian operations carry india along with actual name, an indicator that the Indian operations are independent
Character
Slogan
Retains the word cine from the name to emphasize on what the brand ofers
Shows the dominance of the brand in the industry with the word capital
Jingle
Packaging
Cinepolis Ofers
Real
D
3D
Cine
polis
VIP
IMA
X
Dolb
y
Atm
os
4DX
Cof
ee
Tree
Service Line
Cinepolis
CinepolisVIP
IMAX
Has the capacity to record and display images of far greater size and resolution than
conventional film systems
Cinepolis is one of the few multiplex chains to showcase movies in IMAX standards
4DX
A fully immersive movie experience with a real simulation of efects like motion seats, water,
wind,
scents
Dolby Atmos
RealD 3D
Pricing Strategy
Marketers will set prices depending on competitors pricing and companys strategies
Prices starting from INR 70 and Average Ticket Price (ATP) is INR 160-170
Premium Pricing
Price of service is kept high in order to encourage favourable perceptions among buyers, based
solely on the price
Communication Mix
Communication Mix
Communication Mix
Communication Mix
OOH
Billboards
Mobile Billboards
Bus Shelters
Bus Wraps
Direct Mail
Geo/Demo targeted high-end mailers
PR
Local Events
Sponsorships
Fundraisers & Donations
Revenue Management
Food and beverage operations in
house
Leases floor space on a rent plus
revenue sharing model
Box office collection
Bulk Sales
Theatre advertisements
Luxury cinema
Movie vouchers
Service Process
In sync with the industry average, the average occupancy rate per year is
close to 25-30%
There is a variation in the occupancy rate in each quarter
Quarter
Average Occupancy
1 (Jan-March)
16%
2 (April-June)
26%
3 (July-September)
32%
4 (October-December)
45%
The variation can be attributed to many factors like big releases towards the last 2
quarters (Eid, Diwali and Christmas) etc.
Generally, Supply (Box Office tickets) leads the Demand except for Big Ticket releases
and festive seasons
There are two major demand management strategies : Match Demand to Capacity
and Matching Capacity to Demand
Cinepolis uses a mixed strategy, in lean periods focus is on increasing walk ins which
is facilitated by special ofers, special prices for certain shows etc. Also since the
demand is more or less cyclical , changes in staf count take place when an increased
demand is anticipated
Simple CLV
Customer Lifetime
Value
11,118,992
478519833
43
12
Average Spend PA
240*12=2800
Average Profit(50-55%)
1540
75%
25%
Lifetime
4 Years
1540*4-43=6117
Benefits:
quicker responses
employees feel more
responsible
employees tend to interact
with warmth/enthusiasm
empowered employees are
a great source of ideas
positive word-of-mouth
from customers
Drawbacks:
greater investments in
selection and training
higher labor costs
slower and/or inconsistent
delivery
may violate customer
perceptions of fair play
giving away the store
(making bad decisions)
partial employees
contributing efort, time, or other resources to
the production process
Customer inputs can afect organizations
productivity