Lecture # 10

Developing a
Name: Muhammad Ahmed Khan
SZABIST Islamabad

components applications and framework. Competence stages of an individual Competence management system (CMS) Training your workforce – Important factors .Topics Defining competence Prerequisites to Competence HRD .

rules and procedures. experience and knowledge. Competence is a combination of practical and thinking skills.Two most frequently used words in offices. common sense and work ethics. and may include a willingness to undertake activities within the agreed standards. No one can know everything but we often confuse competence with knowledge. Competence depends on the context and the . Being good enough for a purpose but not especially good. Having the skill or ability to do something in a specific field or subject.Defining competence Competence and incompetence. Being capable of doing something in a satisfactory or effective way.

Prerequisites to Competence To be competent an organization or individual must have: Sufficient knowledge of the tasks to be undertaken and the risks involved The experience and ability to carry out their duties in relation to the project.or those exposed by the work . To recognize their limitations and take appropriate action to prevent harm to those carrying out the work .

Process Improvement • Career Organization’s development (OD) Development • Quality improvement.HRD . Training Developme nt (T&D) Applications and Contexts Processes directs. • Human Resource or are built in Management • Organizational various domestic & Effectiveness • Leadership & Strategy • international Work System Design • Change Mgt. . Intellectual & Social Capital •Workforce complements. and organizational levels. group. process.OD unleashes human expertise for the purpose of improving performance. Development. • settings.components applications and framework . . Primary components of HRD: .T&D develops human expertise for the purpose of improving performance. H R D Process to develop & unleashing expertise to improve performance at the individual.

Competence stages of an 1: Individual is given individual a new job. or assessed as not competent 6: Unconscious incompetence (develops bad habits or laxity) 2: Unconscious incompetence (unaware of limitations) 5:Unconscious competence (develops good habits ) 3:Conscious incompetence (during training and development) 4:Conscious competence (trained and assessed as competent) .

e. search. each employee (or subcontractor) is described based on these standardized definitions. a certain application or knowledge of an accounting practice. Once the skills are defined. As the software is an enterprise system installed on . i. determine training goals. organized approaches to ensuring that it has the human talents needed to meet its business goals. and analyze competency-related data. widely used practice that consists of all of a (CMS) company's formal.Competence management system An old. The practice defines the skills in which an organization is interested. and measure progress toward those goals. Software based applications help organizations to store. These skill and personnel descriptions are used to forecast needs.

Over the time as knowledge and practical experience grows. development and assessment. Such an approach also increases confidence of the . That they maintain or improve their competence over the time. Individuals are clear about the performance that is expected of them. It aims to ensure that. operations can be carried out at a more complex level. That they have received appropriate training.Competence management system (CMS) Objectives of CMS is to: Control a cycle of activities within the company or organization in a logical and integrated manner and assure competent performance at work and further development.

Planning. as shown in the next slide. CMS can be viewed as a cycle defined by 15 principles linked in five phases. Monitoring Reviewing.COMPETENCE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM CYCLE An process that seeks to logically integrate a number of related management activities. . Like most management systems it involves Designing. Implementing.

VerifyCMS and audit the CMS 15. Update the competence of individuals 12.5 phases 1: Establish CMS requirements 1. Monitor and reassess performances 11. Keep records 2: Design the CMS 3. develop and assess staf 9. Review and feed back 4: Maintain & develop competence 10. Control activities undertaken . Identify activities & assess risks 5: Verify.COMPETENCE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM CYCLE . Maintain managers’ competencies 3: Implement the CMS 7. Develop procedures and methods 4. Select standards review 14. Select and recruit staf 8. development and assessment 6. Manage sub-standard performance 13. Train. Establish training requirements. Decide how to meet the standards 5. audit & 2.

This leads to defining and selecting the competence standards for individuals to enable them to control risks consistently (Principle 2). with control measures.FIVE Phases and 15 principles of CMS 1/5 Phase 1: Establish requirements for the CMS Requirements for the system are established starting with the identification of activities that may affect operational safety and occupational health and safety (Principle 1). The risk assessment. . identifies those activities where the competence of people to control risks is important.

methods and work instructions for operating the system are developed to achieve consistency (Principle 3). How each competence standard is met and assessed is then established (Principle 4). Competencies and responsibilities of those managing and operating the system are established (Principle 6). . The extent of the training. development and assessment requirements is established (Principle 5).FIVE Phases and 15 principles of CMS 2/5 Phase 2: Design the CMS The procedures.

FIVE Phases and 15 principles of CMS 3/5 Phase 3: Implement the CMS Staff and recruits are selected and recruited (Principle 7) Against standards selected previously. developed and assessed (Principle 8) against the competence standards and methods already selected (Principles 2 and 4). . And trained. Control processes should be established to ensure that staff and contractors only undertake work for which they are competent (Principle 9).

. systems are required to identify sub-standard performance and restore the competence of individuals (Principle 12). And that competence of individuals is updated (Principle 11) in response to relevant changes including changes in legislation. standards and equipment. In particular.FIVE Phases and 15 principles of CMS 4/5 Phase 4: Maintain and develop competence Monitoring and reassessment of the staff ensures that performance is being consistently maintained (Principle 10). Records must be maintained and made available when requested (Principle 13).

audit and review the CMS Verification and audit of the system (Principle 14) checks the competence assessments and the assessment process. using the information from verification and audit (Principle 15).FIVE Phases and 15 principles of CMS 5/5 Phase 5: Verify. . Company management reviews the whole system and feedback. This process helps to update the requirements for the competence management system which returns the system back to phase 1 onwards leading to changes or modifications to system design.

Training your workforce Few Important tips Start with clear and manageable goals Identify your business's weaknesses Decide when you will hire new talent Set up ongoing support to sustain the changes Revise and update the job description Create a culture conducive to competence Build trust with your employees Value continual learning Foster a social environment Evaluate your employees Mentor your employees Competence assessment and evaluation .

Thank you .

Master your semester with Scribd & The New York Times

Special offer for students: Only $4.99/month.

Master your semester with Scribd & The New York Times

Cancel anytime.