BBA (H) Sem 4- B Introduction • Facebook was founded in 2004 by Harvard student Mark E. Zuckerberg with help from his roommates Dustin Moskovitz and Chris Hughes. • Facebook was originally for Harvard students then expanded to other colleges then to anyone over the age of 18, and now currently to anyone 13 years of age or older. • Company Overview: “ Facebook’s mission is to give people the power to share and make the world more open and connected. “ Characteristics • News Feed • Wall • Photos • Videos • Notes • Gifts • Status • Events MARKETING MIX Product • It goes without saying that Facebook is in service industry, and as a service it is a brand name itself. • The main products of Facebook are Facebook itself, Instagram, Messenger, WhatsApp, and Oculus. Messenger and WhatsApp are instant messaging services, while Oculus is a virtual reality technology business. Both Facebook and Instagram are social networking services. Price • Opening both a personal account and a business account on Facebook is free. • The main source of Facebook revenue is advertisement. • Advertisers have different options to choose to advertise through Facebook. For instance, a post or a page can be promoted with as little as $2.00. • If someone decides to advertise on Facebook on the basis of CPC (cost per click), the average cost per click would be around $0.27. If CPM (cost per thousand impressions) is chosen, then the average CPM cost is approximately $7.19 Place • It is now available virtually everywhere in the world. • Users can access their Facebook accounts from devices such as computers, tablets, and smart-phones with the Internet connectivity. • Social networking service of Facebook is available on mobile apps and on its websites such as Facebook and Instagram. • Advertisers can use these websites for their advertising campaigns. Promotion • While Facebook is a tech company, it has used word of mouth (one of the oldest methods of promotion) very effectively. • In addition to word of mouth, Facebook also uses many other methods of promotion. For instance, it directly recommends advertising campaigns to Facebook business page owners. • It also uses TV, billboards, newspapers, and many other traditional methods of advertising in some countries to take its name to its target audience. People • The social network had 44,942 full-time employees as of December 2019, up from just 150 people in 2006. • Facebook has 2.27 billion monthly active users as of October 2018. • March 2019, Instagram has 1.1 billion active monthly users. Interestingly, 500 million out of 1.1 billion users use Instagram everyday. Process • Process usually refers to a set of actions sequentially conducted in order to achieve something. Different business functions may have different processes. • the process of creating business pages with Facebook is that the users must sign up and create a personal page first and then they can create a business page. Physical Evidence • Physical evidence usually refers to everything customers see when interacting with a business. Though the physical evidence is very limited for a website, it can be said that the Facebook website looks nice and has a number of features to engage users well and provide them with very good experience. • Facebook has offices and data centres around the world, which have state of the art facilities and have a friendly and fresh ambience to the workplace.